Mexican Pork and Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
My hubby loved this! Instead of water I used beef broth (I was out of chicken broth) and used dried cilantro. I served it over rice and had avery happy family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Brown Hollar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe - not too spicy yet full of flavor. I added a few cubed red potatoes and a couple of sliced carrots to make it more of a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I added potatoes, peas, and carrots b/c that's how I've had guisado before. Added a bit of chicken broth to help the potatoes cook, but cooked it all off so that the end result was not soupy at all. Added some Lizano salsa as I love that Costa Rican flavor. Great dish. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Meh... not enough spice and too much tomatoes. I would use more green chilies next time and cut up a jalapeno and add it as well when I add the onions and garlic. Needs more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Mertz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Simple and delicious! Added some corn and served over rice and beans. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Soooo delicious! I skipped the cornstarch and the cheese and the flavor was awesome!! A flour tortilla on the side and it was a great dinner; thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I added cumin to stew as it cooked the first 45 minutes. I used 1 cup water with a chicken bullion cube to add to corn starch to thicken at the end. Gave a more richer flavor. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Overall, very good. I thought was missing just a little something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I've been making this basic recipe for many years and we love it. I've also tried almost all of the variations suggested too. Sometimes I add carrots and potatoes if I want to stretch it. But if you have access to fresh or frozen green chiles like we do here in New Mexico I highly recommend them. You wouldn't believe the difference in taste! Muy Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Over all, very good and very easy to put together. I found it just a touch too tomatoie. An easy adjustment to personal taste for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States