Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Excellent recipe. Like others, I made some changes: rubbed 1/2 packet taco seasoning on chops and drizzled with hot chili oil and let marinade 2 hours (gave good spice). Cooked brown rice half way first, subbed black beans for kidney, frozen corn for canned, and didn't have chilis, so used 1/2 an onion and one whole green pepper, minced. Mixed remaining taco seasoning in with rice mixture. Only used 1/2 can diced tomatoes (don't really like tomatoes). Next time will double the amount of rice. My husband REALLY liked it, definitely a keeper. Could be good as vegetarian, just take out the pork - the rice mix was great alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was really tasty if you take the suggestions of others and add some extras. I rubbed the pork with fajita seasoning and chili oil and then let it sit for a few hours. I used black beans instead of kidney, added some chili powder and cumin and topped it with a Mexican cheese blend. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
With some of the recommended changes, this was very good. I only had 2 big chops, so I cut them into pieces and browned. Then I mixed corn, black beans instead of kidney, and a can of Rotel tomatoes and chilis. I also added about 1/4 cup taco seasoning and the rice, then simmered for a while. After browning chop pieces, I mixed everything together and baked 30 minutes. I served it in tortillas with cheese and FF sour cream - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I added comments from other folks and made some changes of my own. Here is the adjustment: Rub both sides of the pork chops with Taco Seasoning and let it sit in a couple of tablespoons of oil for a few hours. Salt and pepper pork chops and brown them in a little oil. Cut up the pork chops into bite size pieces. Make rice in rice cooker. Mix together the cut up pork chops with 1 can of the following in skillet diced tomatoes, corn, kidney beans, green chili. Add a generous 1/2 teaspoon of the following seasonings: cumin, cayenne, garlic powder and Tabasco sauce, plus 1 teaspoon of chili powder. Cook in skillet on medium /medium low heat for about 25 min., making sure the pork is cooked. Get out the pancake griddle (or big skillet). Spray it with Pam or put a little oil/butter on it. Place small size flour tortillas on griddle to warm. While warming on the griddle, top the tortilla with the vegetable/meat mixture, salsa, sour cream, grated cheese. Other ingredients might include black olives, tomatoes, & onion. Serve with the rice as a side dish or add the rice inside the tortilla. Fold the tortilla around the filling and eat. Great with Dos Equis beer. We all had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I gave my husband this recipe to make for dinner (he's an extremely novice cook) and it turned out just fabulous. It's healthy, delicious, and requires very little prep work. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hfm28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I made this for the first time last night and it was really good! I used "hot" chili beans instead of kidney beans which made it just a little spicy. A little of the topping mixture was leftover and it was great reheated for lunch. Only thing I will change when I make it again is I will cook the topping mixture a bit longer because I did not think the rice was cooked quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a very good meal. The pork chops were very moist. I will include more rice in the recipe the next time I make it as the two cans of tomatoes (which I have to puree for a very picky eater in my house) made it almost a little TOO tomatoey. I added shredded cheese on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neferchica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I enjoyed this more than I thought I would! I did make a few changes right out of the gate... used recipe ready diced tomatoes rather than stewed, added half a can of black beans for color/variety, used frozen supersweet corn instead of canned, omitted the can of chilies, added about 1/2 c water when simmering the rice/bean/veg mixture, started the post-pork process by sauteing a diced vidalia onion (about 1.5 cups chopped) first, then adding the other stuff. Added some cumin and chili powder, per previous reviewers. I also simmered it for 5 minutes to make sure the rice (calrose) got a jump on cooking. I know it sounds like a lot of modification, but it really wasn't. My kids were mixed on the veg/bean stuff (2 of them hate canned tomato) but they ate it. all loved the MOIST pork! I am always looking for ways to do pork and this one really worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
The pork chops turned out okay. I used brown rice in the recipe & had to take the chops out to allow the rice to cook longer. Had I left the chops in the oven they would have turned into pork jerky. I just wasn't too impressed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I omitted the corn, doubled the kidney beans and stuffed the chops with garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States