Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I too, think this probably would have been better in the slow cooker adding the rice an hour before it was done. I just don't think the pork was very flavorful. I would also add either more chilies or maybe jalepenos to the mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
The rice taste awesome! Loved this recepie and it was so easy and quick! Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLMARI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
We loved it!!! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I, too, liked this recipe and carefully read / modified based on reviews. Mine changes were: 1 14oz can of HOT Rotel Tomatoes. 1 14oz can of black beans 1Cup of long grain uncooked rice. 1 14oz. can yellow canned corn. After browning the chops and bringing the veg's to boil I put them in a slow cooker on low for 4 hours. Moist, tender, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Made this for my husband and he loved it!! He is picky about which recipes he gives two thumbs up too, but he couldn't get enough of this. The pork comes out so tender and the flavors are awesome. I didn't use the beans as I didn't have any, but it was still excellent. I'll be making this a couple times a month. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
DH rating this dish a 5!! I did what a few reviewers suggested. Rubbed taco seasoning and smokey paprika onto pork chops then browned them. I actually left them in the skillet, added everything else and just let simmer until pork was done. One pot, less clean up!! I used 1 can of rotel tomatoes and 1 can of black beans (did not drain). Did not have a can of corn so used half a bag of frozen corn. Seasoned with salt, placed the lid on and let simmer for about 8 to 10 minutes. Added cooked rice (I keep some cooked up and frozen) right at the end....DELICIOUS! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
we really enjoyed this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Everybody liked this. I did sprinkle taco seasoning on both sides of the pork chops before browning them, and added the rest of the packet to the rice mixture. Next time that I make this I'll use some more individual seasonings, because I felt that even with the taco seasoning it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
These were so good and a nice change for pork!! I made a few changes. I did what Jan had submitted: Rub both sides of the pork with taco seasoning and added 1/2 tsp of each... cumin, cayenne, garlic powder, and tabasco sauce. And 1 tsp of chili powder. I thought this gave it lots of flavor! I also just made a pack of Mexican rice and did a can of Rotel insead of the cans of tomatoes and peppers, and I did a can of Black Beans. Very yummy! I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Excellent recipe. Like others, I made some changes: rubbed 1/2 packet taco seasoning on chops and drizzled with hot chili oil and let marinade 2 hours (gave good spice). Cooked brown rice half way first, subbed black beans for kidney, frozen corn for canned, and didn't have chilis, so used 1/2 an onion and one whole green pepper, minced. Mixed remaining taco seasoning in with rice mixture. Only used 1/2 can diced tomatoes (don't really like tomatoes). Next time will double the amount of rice. My husband REALLY liked it, definitely a keeper. Could be good as vegetarian, just take out the pork - the rice mix was great alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States