Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe! I made slight changes. In addition to the original veggies, I added black beans. I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed (a salsa style tomato). I also diced the pork and sprinkled it with some spices; paprika, coriander or cilantro (whatever is available), garlic, cumin, onion powder, coarse sea salt, seasoning salt and red pepper then browned it in a skillet. I don't usually measure. I add things and taste it to see how it is. I would guess that I used about a teaspoon of each spice. I added a layer of cheddar cheese over the mixture and threw it in the oven as directed. This is a great recipe idea. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I liked it but my family did not. They are not a fan of Mexican anyway and I was trying to convert them. I added on my plate some sour cream and also covered it with Tortilla Strips from fresh gourmet which added some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrewRN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Have made this several times, but will make with my changes & others suggestions for the best flavor. I brown the pork chops with taco seasoning sprinkled on both sides, also I add 1/8 tsp cumin & oregano with the tomatoes, corn etc. I use Mexican stew tomatoes instead of plain stewed & a whole can of diced green chilies. I've baked this dish and put in the crock pot & both work fine. The last few minutes I top with some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is what I did. The chops were browned as in the recipe, I used a tin of chilli's in adobe sauce and navy beans as that's all I had. I also added chopped peppers and a couple of apples because I had some that were bruised that my kids were refusing to eat. I won't brown the chops again as they were quite dry, I will use the tinned chilli's in adobe sauce and the navy beans, they seemed to work really well, the apples were quite good too. I did clean and soak my rice, that makes it cook way quicker, I'll make sure I do that again too. We will be using this again, thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Best pork chop recipe ever. The only change I made was that I made a rub for the chops consisting of; mexican oregano, smokey paprika, ground cumin, chili powder, garlic and onion powder and a little cayenne. Rubbed the chops down and let them marinate for several hours. Made the dish as suggested but added chopped onion and a little cilantro. Outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
As written I had uncooked rice and undone pork...so that would be a "no star", but after I transferred the rice mixture into a fry pan and added the pork chops on top it was amazing! I doubled the recipe and used 8 thin sliced boneless chops. I used about 1 1/2 c rice (again...I doubled) as suggested by previous reviewers. I also did not have chilis, but did have Rotel so I used that instead. I will absolutely be making this again, but I will not waste my time in the oven and instead just dump all ingredients together and place meat on top in a large fry pan on low/medium heat to simmer until done. This was a GREAT starting point and I appreciate you sharing such wonderful ideas! This will be a go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I also followed the advice of others and spiced up the dish with some ancho chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, salt & pepper. I sprinkled this on the chops as well before browing. This is a quick easy and also very versatile dish. You could make many additions or subtractions depending on what you do or don't like. It's just my husband and I so we had plenty left over for another meal. I cut up the pork chops and mixed it with the rice then I put some shredded taco cheese on a flour tortilla and spread it with the rice and pork. It was even better the second time. We WILL be making this AGAIN. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Turned out yummy - made a few changes to spice it up a bit: used chili beans instead of kidney beans, added garlic, cumin and ground black pepper. Since we prefer frozen veggies when possible, frozen corn worked great. Used soaked brown rice instead of white rice, just cooked it a bit longer first. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These were easy and delicious. We liked them even better with cheese sprinkled on top., but by themselves was good too. The only real change I made was to put the chops on the bottom of the dish and the tomato mixture on top, I thought this would help the pork to not dry out. Next time I might add some Mexican style spices or just taco seasoning. Also, I think this recipe could be pretty easily adapted to a slow cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Good recipe but it definitively needs spices. I added 1/2 tsp each of chili powder, garlic, cumin and coriander I also sauteed 1 medium sliced onion with the chops. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States