Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
This is such a good recipe! I used diced tomatoes with chiles and cilantro and stewed tomatoes. I also added a little taco seasoning to the chops before I browned them. The chops were so moist. The leftovers are also awesome, I cut the leftover chops into strips and put everything in a tortilla shell. This one will be on our menu for good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRPDETH
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This is a great recipe, and a family favorite, we like it hot so we add a few fresh jalapanios and a touch of habanero sauce. Very good Crpdeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRPDETH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Yummy! We liked this. I did change it slightly - didn't have kidney beans, so used black beans instead. Also used brown rice. Added a bit extra water, and cooked about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My husband and I both love this recipe. I of course had to "kick it up a notch" by adding chili seasoning to the pork as I cooked it and adding hot chili sauce to the mixture before putting into the oven. I also found the Cheddar Jack cheese is the perfect topping. (maybe that is to counteract the hot chili sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I tried this recipe last night, when my parents came over, everyone loved it,It does make alot so you may want to adjust measurements. I browned the chops about 12 mins. either side, with salt & pepper. And I added a few things, I sauteed 3 cloves garlic,1onion. Added 2tbsp. cilanto, 2 tbsp. ground cumin. And used black beans instead of kidney. I have a toddler so I only used 1/2 can green chilies, she loved it. When I took it out I grated Asadero Mexican cheese on the rice mixture. Yummy, And made homemade corn tortillas with it. If you get a chance try this recipe, this will be a keeper at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My husband and I both thought this recipe was very good...especially the tomato mixture. Next time I make it I will try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
A very good, hearty recipe. I did not have stewed tomatoes so cooked 6 fresh, with some chopped onion, celery, orange pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Excellent, I loved this recipe and I am not that big a fan of pork. Rice was great all by it's self!!! Hint: I added Adobo seasoning to the prk before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Both my husband and I really enjoyed this! I added 1 t. cumin, 1 t. chili powder, 1 t. chipotle chili powder, and it was wonderful (also added 4 chopped green onions)! Served with cheese quesadillas on the side... yummy! Edited to add: I made this recipe again, this time adding a little more rice, a scant 3/4 cup, and it was even better! With just the 1/2 cup, the rice got a little lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Substituting what I had on hand (1 can tomatoes with jalapenos, frozen Mexican-style corn with black beans & onions & green peppers, black beans) and using other reviewers' opinions (adding 1/4 c more rice, topping chops with cheese, added cumin), this has got to be one of my best meals. Everyone loved it including my mega-finicky 6-yr-old. I also Mrs. Dash'd the chops when browning them; they tasted great and were so tender. I also let the tomato mixture simmer on the stove for about 10 minutes to give the rice a head start. Turned out to be a good idea. Pork is not a major part of our diet, but this will be the way I fix it from now on. Mexican cooking is so versatile so I can't wait to try this with chicken and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States