Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
We loved this so much, but made some changes as others did. Added cumin, chili sauce, cilantro to the tomato mixture. Salt and peppered the chops before browning, as well as added some cayenne. Biggest change - partially cooked our brown rice before adding to casserole and cooking. This recipe is a really great mexican variation (no carb loaded tortillas or taco shells!). We will be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I skipped browning the chops in a skillet and put them directly in the oven. I think this keeps the chops from drying out. After baking in the oven, the rice was still uncooked. So after baking, I transferred everthing but the pork chops to a sauce pan with with a lid and simmered for about 10-15 minutes. This cooked the rice. Then, I put the rice mixture back on the pork chops for serving. It was very yummy. Next time, I will simmer the rice mixture on the stove first for about 15 minutes, and then, bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Great idea! Like everyone else, I used what I had on-hand - frozen corn, black beans, canned tomatos, and Minute Rice (by the way, this reduced the cooking time immensely!) Added cumin and chili powder and added a can of chicken broth for more liquid. Served it with cheese quesadillas - a fast and very easy weekday meal. I ended up with too much tomato/bean/rice/corn mixture, so I froze some for the next time - which will make it even that much faster! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We had this tonight and it was really good. I marinated 6 chops overnight with a rubdown of oil and half a packet of our favortie taco seasoning before browning. I also used a box of Rice a Roni Spanish Rice, because that was all I had on hand and it worked out fine. I added the remaining half of the taco seasoning and Rice a Roni packet to the tomato/rice mixture while simmering. I served with a tossed salad and cheese quesadillas(thanks to the poster who suggested that - was the perfect addition to this meal). I got many compliments from the family and this was super easy. Thank the Lord because anyone who's ever had a six month old to take care of knows about needing easy dinner solutions!!! Thanks for the post I will make this many more times - we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I added comments from other folks and made some changes of my own. Here is the adjustment: Rub both sides of the pork chops with Taco Seasoning and let it sit in a couple of tablespoons of oil for a few hours. Salt and pepper pork chops and brown them in a little oil. Cut up the pork chops into bite size pieces. Make rice in rice cooker. Mix together the cut up pork chops with 1 can of the following in skillet diced tomatoes, corn, kidney beans, green chili. Add a generous 1/2 teaspoon of the following seasonings: cumin, cayenne, garlic powder and Tabasco sauce, plus 1 teaspoon of chili powder. Cook in skillet on medium /medium low heat for about 25 min., making sure the pork is cooked. Get out the pancake griddle (or big skillet). Spray it with Pam or put a little oil/butter on it. Place small size flour tortillas on griddle to warm. While warming on the griddle, top the tortilla with the vegetable/meat mixture, salsa, sour cream, grated cheese. Other ingredients might include black olives, tomatoes, & onion. Serve with the rice as a side dish or add the rice inside the tortilla. Fold the tortilla around the filling and eat. Great with Dos Equis beer. We all had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Both my husband and I really enjoyed this! I added 1 t. cumin, 1 t. chili powder, 1 t. chipotle chili powder, and it was wonderful (also added 4 chopped green onions)! Served with cheese quesadillas on the side... yummy! Edited to add: I made this recipe again, this time adding a little more rice, a scant 3/4 cup, and it was even better! With just the 1/2 cup, the rice got a little lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Good recipe but it definitively needs spices. I added 1/2 tsp each of chili powder, garlic, cumin and coriander I also sauteed 1 medium sliced onion with the chops. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Substituting what I had on hand (1 can tomatoes with jalapenos, frozen Mexican-style corn with black beans & onions & green peppers, black beans) and using other reviewers' opinions (adding 1/4 c more rice, topping chops with cheese, added cumin), this has got to be one of my best meals. Everyone loved it including my mega-finicky 6-yr-old. I also Mrs. Dash'd the chops when browning them; they tasted great and were so tender. I also let the tomato mixture simmer on the stove for about 10 minutes to give the rice a head start. Turned out to be a good idea. Pork is not a major part of our diet, but this will be the way I fix it from now on. Mexican cooking is so versatile so I can't wait to try this with chicken and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Delicious! Very good!! I like to add hot sauce to make it more spicy!! A+++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
This is such a good recipe! I used diced tomatoes with chiles and cilantro and stewed tomatoes. I also added a little taco seasoning to the chops before I browned them. The chops were so moist. The leftovers are also awesome, I cut the leftover chops into strips and put everything in a tortilla shell. This one will be on our menu for good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States