Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I fixed the recipe as written and I have to say it wasn't that good. I loved how the pork chops turned out, they were very moist. The rice mixure however was just okay. I'm not sure If I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I found that the rice mixture was alot, enough for 6 servings. It also needed kick, cumin or chili powder needed, as other reviewers have said. It's not a bad recipe though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very easy and good base recipe, but definitely needs a few changes to get to 5 star. Chops are very tender using this cooking method. I strongly suggest the following changes: -Season chops with seasoned salt and dip in flower before frying in oil -Add cumin, cayenne, crushed red pepper, fresh cilantro, and sliced green onions to the rice mix -Double rice to 1 cup -bake right in the skillet, no need to dirty a baking dish I would also recommend: -Swap black beans for kidney beans -Add chopped jalapeno peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had to come back & find this recipe again! I added some fresh cilantro, used taco seasoning, did not brown my pork & served in small flour shells slightly browned in oil. It was such a hit! It tasted GREAT!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huxtacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was just OK for us. It was a change from my usual creamy mushroom soup/onion/white wine sauce I usually make with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Just made this for dinner! It was great! I seasoned the chops with Paula Deens House seasoning and seared on each side. Cooked the rice 3/4 was through before adding it to the rest of the mix. Also used rotel instead of stewed tomatoes and green chillies. Will make again soon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
So I don't usually stray too much from the recipe in front of me but I was looking for a way to use pork in say, a taco or quesadilla. Here's what I did: I took 4 boneless pork chops and cubed into 1/2-1 inch pieces. Browned these slightly on the stove then added 1 can petite diced tomatoes, 1 can diced chiles, 1/2 large browned onion, 1 teaspoons minced garlic, 1 can drained/rinsed black beans, 1 teaspoon cumin and 1 pkg success white rice (out of the bag, of course!) and cooked until the rice was done. I added about a cup of water total as it was cooking as well. SOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yummy! Okay now, I made a lot of changes because I didn't have the required items on hand. But, it worked and was dynamite! Here's what I did: I only had a box of Goya Black Beans and Rice so I added to that, 1 drained can of kidney beans, one can of creamed corn (yes, creamed! All I had), and one can of Rotel tomatoes with chiles. I added two cups of water (as suggested on box of rice, and brought to a boil on the stove. I then added 6 pork chops that I seasoned with cumin and garlic salt. Covered and baked for one hour. Easy peasy and delish!!!!! Oh, I also added mexican cheese blend and sour cream on the top of the rice when I served it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious! The chops churned out very moist. I did use tomatoes that came with some chili spices and added black beans. My boyfriend is picky about tomatoes and veggies and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglas, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Like some others, I made it easier by rubbing the chops with mexican dry rub and putting straight into the baking dish. Also, I didn't heat everything before rather mixed it all together, dumped it in the casserole and plopped the chops on top. So easy! Changed a few things per what I had on deck like brown rice, pinto beans and added some black olives. Really delicious and a little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States