Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Both my husband and I really enjoyed this! I added 1 t. cumin, 1 t. chili powder, 1 t. chipotle chili powder, and it was wonderful (also added 4 chopped green onions)! Served with cheese quesadillas on the side... yummy! Edited to add: I made this recipe again, this time adding a little more rice, a scant 3/4 cup, and it was even better! With just the 1/2 cup, the rice got a little lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
This is such a good recipe! I used diced tomatoes with chiles and cilantro and stewed tomatoes. I also added a little taco seasoning to the chops before I browned them. The chops were so moist. The leftovers are also awesome, I cut the leftover chops into strips and put everything in a tortilla shell. This one will be on our menu for good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Substituting what I had on hand (1 can tomatoes with jalapenos, frozen Mexican-style corn with black beans & onions & green peppers, black beans) and using other reviewers' opinions (adding 1/4 c more rice, topping chops with cheese, added cumin), this has got to be one of my best meals. Everyone loved it including my mega-finicky 6-yr-old. I also Mrs. Dash'd the chops when browning them; they tasted great and were so tender. I also let the tomato mixture simmer on the stove for about 10 minutes to give the rice a head start. Turned out to be a good idea. Pork is not a major part of our diet, but this will be the way I fix it from now on. Mexican cooking is so versatile so I can't wait to try this with chicken and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRPDETH
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This is a great recipe, and a family favorite, we like it hot so we add a few fresh jalapanios and a touch of habanero sauce. Very good Crpdeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRPDETH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Yummy! We liked this. I did change it slightly - didn't have kidney beans, so used black beans instead. Also used brown rice. Added a bit extra water, and cooked about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My husband and I both love this recipe. I of course had to "kick it up a notch" by adding chili seasoning to the pork as I cooked it and adding hot chili sauce to the mixture before putting into the oven. I also found the Cheddar Jack cheese is the perfect topping. (maybe that is to counteract the hot chili sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I tried this recipe last night, when my parents came over, everyone loved it,It does make alot so you may want to adjust measurements. I browned the chops about 12 mins. either side, with salt & pepper. And I added a few things, I sauteed 3 cloves garlic,1onion. Added 2tbsp. cilanto, 2 tbsp. ground cumin. And used black beans instead of kidney. I have a toddler so I only used 1/2 can green chilies, she loved it. When I took it out I grated Asadero Mexican cheese on the rice mixture. Yummy, And made homemade corn tortillas with it. If you get a chance try this recipe, this will be a keeper at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My husband and I both thought this recipe was very good...especially the tomato mixture. Next time I make it I will try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
A very good, hearty recipe. I did not have stewed tomatoes so cooked 6 fresh, with some chopped onion, celery, orange pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Excellent, I loved this recipe and I am not that big a fan of pork. Rice was great all by it's self!!! Hint: I added Adobo seasoning to the prk before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States