Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I fixed the recipe as written and I have to say it wasn't that good. I loved how the pork chops turned out, they were very moist. The rice mixure however was just okay. I'm not sure If I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I found that the rice mixture was alot, enough for 6 servings. It also needed kick, cumin or chili powder needed, as other reviewers have said. It's not a bad recipe though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very easy and good base recipe, but definitely needs a few changes to get to 5 star. Chops are very tender using this cooking method. I strongly suggest the following changes: -Season chops with seasoned salt and dip in flower before frying in oil -Add cumin, cayenne, crushed red pepper, fresh cilantro, and sliced green onions to the rice mix -Double rice to 1 cup -bake right in the skillet, no need to dirty a baking dish I would also recommend: -Swap black beans for kidney beans -Add chopped jalapeno peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had to come back & find this recipe again! I added some fresh cilantro, used taco seasoning, did not brown my pork & served in small flour shells slightly browned in oil. It was such a hit! It tasted GREAT!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huxtacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was just OK for us. It was a change from my usual creamy mushroom soup/onion/white wine sauce I usually make with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Just made this for dinner! It was great! I seasoned the chops with Paula Deens House seasoning and seared on each side. Cooked the rice 3/4 was through before adding it to the rest of the mix. Also used rotel instead of stewed tomatoes and green chillies. Will make again soon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
So I don't usually stray too much from the recipe in front of me but I was looking for a way to use pork in say, a taco or quesadilla. Here's what I did: I took 4 boneless pork chops and cubed into 1/2-1 inch pieces. Browned these slightly on the stove then added 1 can petite diced tomatoes, 1 can diced chiles, 1/2 large browned onion, 1 teaspoons minced garlic, 1 can drained/rinsed black beans, 1 teaspoon cumin and 1 pkg success white rice (out of the bag, of course!) and cooked until the rice was done. I added about a cup of water total as it was cooking as well. SOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yummy! Okay now, I made a lot of changes because I didn't have the required items on hand. But, it worked and was dynamite! Here's what I did: I only had a box of Goya Black Beans and Rice so I added to that, 1 drained can of kidney beans, one can of creamed corn (yes, creamed! All I had), and one can of Rotel tomatoes with chiles. I added two cups of water (as suggested on box of rice, and brought to a boil on the stove. I then added 6 pork chops that I seasoned with cumin and garlic salt. Covered and baked for one hour. Easy peasy and delish!!!!! Oh, I also added mexican cheese blend and sour cream on the top of the rice when I served it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious! The chops churned out very moist. I did use tomatoes that came with some chili spices and added black beans. My boyfriend is picky about tomatoes and veggies and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglas, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Like some others, I made it easier by rubbing the chops with mexican dry rub and putting straight into the baking dish. Also, I didn't heat everything before rather mixed it all together, dumped it in the casserole and plopped the chops on top. So easy! Changed a few things per what I had on deck like brown rice, pinto beans and added some black olives. Really delicious and a little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States