Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Fantastic recipe. Substituted chicken, which was a little disappointing. I may marinade the meat next time. The rice mixture was full of flavor. I added cumin and chili powder for a little more kick. Served with cornbread and a cold drink, this will be served again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My husband and I both thought this recipe was very good...especially the tomato mixture. Next time I make it I will try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I tried this recipe last night, when my parents came over, everyone loved it,It does make alot so you may want to adjust measurements. I browned the chops about 12 mins. either side, with salt & pepper. And I added a few things, I sauteed 3 cloves garlic,1onion. Added 2tbsp. cilanto, 2 tbsp. ground cumin. And used black beans instead of kidney. I have a toddler so I only used 1/2 can green chilies, she loved it. When I took it out I grated Asadero Mexican cheese on the rice mixture. Yummy, And made homemade corn tortillas with it. If you get a chance try this recipe, this will be a keeper at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My husband and I both love this recipe. I of course had to "kick it up a notch" by adding chili seasoning to the pork as I cooked it and adding hot chili sauce to the mixture before putting into the oven. I also found the Cheddar Jack cheese is the perfect topping. (maybe that is to counteract the hot chili sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I thought it sounded like a lot of work but it really wasn't and it is just delicious! I did it with both pork and chicken and enjoyed the chicken more (just a personal preference). I added a bit of cumin and oregano but only used about half the can of green chilies and it was just right for my wimpy palate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very good. The rice and bean mix was a lot, and we ate it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I was somewhat disappointed with this in that the tomato mixture was a little too runny and I would have liked more spice. Having said that, the flavor was very nice and my family devoured it. I will definitely make this again and maybe double the chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Yummy! We liked this. I did change it slightly - didn't have kidney beans, so used black beans instead. Also used brown rice. Added a bit extra water, and cooked about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
OH MY GOSH! loved it. My husband is a very picky eater. He loved it! Even my kids ate it up. I think this would be good if you replace the pork with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is pretty good. The tomato mixture makes ALOT -- I would say it's enough for 8 chops! I used diced tomatoes with green chilis and cilantro (but I still added the can of chilis for more color), used pinquitos instead of kidney beans, and added taco seasoning to the tomato mixture in the skillet. The chops really didn't have any flavor, but the tomato/rice mixture was delicious. I will try it again, but cut down on the mixture ingredients (or else invite a houseful of people). Thank you, JValentine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States