Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I skipped browning the chops in a skillet and put them directly in the oven. I think this keeps the chops from drying out. After baking in the oven, the rice was still uncooked. So after baking, I transferred everthing but the pork chops to a sauce pan with with a lid and simmered for about 10-15 minutes. This cooked the rice. Then, I put the rice mixture back on the pork chops for serving. It was very yummy. Next time, I will simmer the rice mixture on the stove first for about 15 minutes, and then, bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Not the most amazing dish I've ever made, but good enough to make it into my occasional rotation. I added cumin & chile powder. I used frozen corn instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was pretty good. I used two cans of diced tomatoes, frozen corn (thawed), and two 14-ounce cans of beans (one of kidney and one of black). I added a little extra rice plus some water to make up for the extra rice. This took a LOT longer to cook, closer to 90 minutes. That may have been my fault (the extra rice and beans!), but I DID add extra water. My husband wasn't thrilled with it but I enjoyed it. I might try it with kielbasa to see if he likes it better. Thanks, JV, for a different pork chop recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Substituting what I had on hand (1 can tomatoes with jalapenos, frozen Mexican-style corn with black beans & onions & green peppers, black beans) and using other reviewers' opinions (adding 1/4 c more rice, topping chops with cheese, added cumin), this has got to be one of my best meals. Everyone loved it including my mega-finicky 6-yr-old. I also Mrs. Dash'd the chops when browning them; they tasted great and were so tender. I also let the tomato mixture simmer on the stove for about 10 minutes to give the rice a head start. Turned out to be a good idea. Pork is not a major part of our diet, but this will be the way I fix it from now on. Mexican cooking is so versatile so I can't wait to try this with chicken and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Both my husband and I really enjoyed this! I added 1 t. cumin, 1 t. chili powder, 1 t. chipotle chili powder, and it was wonderful (also added 4 chopped green onions)! Served with cheese quesadillas on the side... yummy! Edited to add: I made this recipe again, this time adding a little more rice, a scant 3/4 cup, and it was even better! With just the 1/2 cup, the rice got a little lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I left out the beans, which are not a favorite in my house. This was good, but the pork chops were a little bland. Next time I will marinate the chops before cooking, but I will make it again, especially considering the lack of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was better than I anticipated - but I did make substitutions and adjustments to it. I substituted a 28oz can of diced tomatoes for stewed tomatoes. I did not have the chiles so I substituted an envelope of taco seasoning. I had six pork chops and used all of them. And also sprinkled grated mexican-style cheese as the previous reviewer suggested. It was great made this way. I am sure it is equally tasty made as the base recipe indicates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Black Forest, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Excellent, I loved this recipe and I am not that big a fan of pork. Rice was great all by it's self!!! Hint: I added Adobo seasoning to the prk before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
A very good, hearty recipe. I did not have stewed tomatoes so cooked 6 fresh, with some chopped onion, celery, orange pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States