Mexican Pintos With Cactus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Ok, I'm not exactly sure why this recipe only has a 3 1/2 star rating because it is fantastic! I didn't have time to do dried beans in the crockpot so I used a can of white kidney beans (I had them on hand) and I used jarred cactus. I had never had cactus before and didn't know what to expect. I can tell you that I will use this recipe as a staple side dish in my home from now on...it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Decent. I omitted the bacon since I didn't have any on hand, and I used jarred nopalitos because my grocer does not carry cactus leaves. If you want more spice, I would throw the jalapeno in about thirty minutes before serving. After sitting four hours in the crockpot, I couldn't even taste the jalapeno, and I didn't even remove the seeds before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My hubby loves this! His Mama has been making it for him, before me, for years! I made a pot of beans the other day and Share Bear convinced me to try the cactus. I found this recipe and went to the market and got a jar of cactus. I sauted some onions and added my beans. The cactus is vinegary and spicy. I mentioned to Carlos that they don't have a lot of flavor and he said "No they don't. That is the way they are!" I added 1/2 the jar and heated it up. Really good! The cactus by itself, tastes like pickled green beans. I will of course make this again. Thank You Katz002.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Okay I cheated a little bit. I had some extra cactus leftover from another recipe on this site and I stumbled across this one. I didn't have time for a slow cooker and so I brought my pintos to a boil, turned off the heat, and let soak for an hour. I drained the water and proceeded from there but all done on the stove. LOVED this recipe and I will use again. Top with extra bacon, onion, and jalapeno for additional yummy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
WAY too salty. Next time I'll add it at the table if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I used this recipe for instructions on how to cook cactus leaves - they turned out great! After they were cooked, I added them to fajita veggies: onions, garlic and zucchini. We made "haystacks": rice, beans, fajita veggies, and salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
1. Place the pinto beans into a slow cooker, and fill to the top with hot water. Add the bacon, 2 tablespoons of salt, jalapeno and onion. Cover, and cook on High for 3 to 4 hours, adding water as needed, until beans are tender. 2. Remove any thorns from the cactus leaves, and slice into small pieces. Place in a saucepan with 1 teaspoon of salt, and fill with enough water to cover. Bring to a boil, and cook for 2 minutes. Drain and rinse with cold water for 1 minute. Add to the beans and along with 1 cup of your favorite pic ante sauce like PACE and serve .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was quick and easy. The only change I made was adding 2 minced garlic cloves. Thanks for the great recipe. Served it with tortillas, sour cream and cojita cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! Cooked beans in pan then added the cooked nopal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States