Mexican Pintos with Cactus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Decent. I omitted the bacon since I didn't have any on hand, and I used jarred nopalitos because my grocer does not carry cactus leaves. If you want more spice, I would throw the jalapeno in about thirty minutes before serving. After sitting four hours in the crockpot, I couldn't even taste the jalapeno, and I didn't even remove the seeds before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
WAY too salty. Next time I'll add it at the table if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My hubby loves this! His Mama has been making it for him, before me, for years! I made a pot of beans the other day and Share Bear convinced me to try the cactus. I found this recipe and went to the market and got a jar of cactus. I sauted some onions and added my beans. The cactus is vinegary and spicy. I mentioned to Carlos that they don't have a lot of flavor and he said "No they don't. That is the way they are!" I added 1/2 the jar and heated it up. Really good! The cactus by itself, tastes like pickled green beans. I will of course make this again. Thank You Katz002.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was quick and easy. The only change I made was adding 2 minced garlic cloves. Thanks for the great recipe. Served it with tortillas, sour cream and cojita cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Ok, I'm not exactly sure why this recipe only has a 3 1/2 star rating because it is fantastic! I didn't have time to do dried beans in the crockpot so I used a can of white kidney beans (I had them on hand) and I used jarred cactus. I had never had cactus before and didn't know what to expect. I can tell you that I will use this recipe as a staple side dish in my home from now on...it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I used this recipe for instructions on how to cook cactus leaves - they turned out great! After they were cooked, I added them to fajita veggies: onions, garlic and zucchini. We made "haystacks": rice, beans, fajita veggies, and salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Okay I cheated a little bit. I had some extra cactus leftover from another recipe on this site and I stumbled across this one. I didn't have time for a slow cooker and so I brought my pintos to a boil, turned off the heat, and let soak for an hour. I drained the water and proceeded from there but all done on the stove. LOVED this recipe and I will use again. Top with extra bacon, onion, and jalapeno for additional yummy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! Cooked beans in pan then added the cooked nopal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ToRi~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Quinta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was really good, its the 1st recipe I've found with cactus. After living in small village in Mexico, cactus is something I miss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Pintos with Cactus

Make Mexican pinto beans in the crock pot with bacon, jalapenos, and cactus.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States