Mexican Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Easy, great dinner served with shredded cheddar and sour cream on top and slices of avacado on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I enjoyed it the first time, doing exactly what the recipe called for, but I loved it the second time when I added onions, jalapeno, garlic, diced tomatoes, cummin, cilantro, chili powder, and a copious amount of sea salt. It's a great recipe for starting out and finding what else you might want to add. Don't forget to soak your beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
this is a great recipe!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I didn't like this much at all. My husband thought they were ok but they taste more like ham hock & beans that Mexican beans. I put in bacon, onion, garlic, tomatoes and chopped jalapeno along with the serano peppers. It wasn't terribly flavorful and not remotely spicy, even with all of that. Also I don't think the beans should cook so long, mine began to fall apart. I wonder if they lost some of their flavor from cooking so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Simple and delicious! This is how my grandmother used to make them for me, and cornbread goes great with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Not hard to make and tast was not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Great start to the guaracho beans like at the Mexican Restaurant and I've tried to duplicate at home. Add onions to the first cooking, some cumin, and some garlic. At the last few minutes , add fresh cilantro. Delicious side dish without all the added fat to refry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is a pretty good soup recipe. It's very similar to the way my mom makes them. But faster with the "quick soak" method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was good but very bland. I added some chopped onion and salt, which made it a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daltry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
It really is easier to just not change the water again, but you might get a slightly less appealing looking broth. The other thing is that these are not "refried beans", so if that's what you are looking for you wont get with this recipe. One suggestion though (from a Mexican), follow these directions as they are. Once you have your cooked beans, take a skillet and pour some oil (maybe about 1/4 cup) heat the oil and take beans from the pot (drain the liquid first) and fry them in the oil. Mash them up while they are frying. You could also stir in some milk for a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States