Mexican Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Authentic and really good. even the kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Good, simple recipe. Just what I was looking for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
It really is easier to just not change the water again, but you might get a slightly less appealing looking broth. The other thing is that these are not "refried beans", so if that's what you are looking for you wont get with this recipe. One suggestion though (from a Mexican), follow these directions as they are. Once you have your cooked beans, take a skillet and pour some oil (maybe about 1/4 cup) heat the oil and take beans from the pot (drain the liquid first) and fry them in the oil. Mash them up while they are frying. You could also stir in some milk for a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Simple and delicious! This is how my grandmother used to make them for me, and cornbread goes great with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
My family loves this dish! My husband is Hispanic and he loves beans served this way. Even my mom, in the South, thinks it's wonderful. They're easy to serve as refried beans as well. Just heat oil in a pan, add beans and mash with a wooden spoon as they cook. Ready in about five minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Excellent recipe! My son in law is a picky eater and he raved about these beans. Will make and serve again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
They're beans! They are supposed to be somewhat bland - they are a side dish to compliment the other items in your meal. This is not a soup recipe. The only thing I change is when adding the water the second time - add one whole beer. Any beer, but a medium ale is really good. Not all beans taste good cooked with beer, but I think it really makes pinto's great. Another trick, you can try covering and cooking them in a 350 degree oven instead of the stove top. For some reason, the all around heat makes the texture better than the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
this is a great recipe!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is absolutely the easiest way to cook delicious beans! No veggies to chop makes mama happy...new favorite way to cook beans when serving mexican food. Followed recipe exactly and added a little salt after cooking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Great, easy and plenty of good feedback for alternative recipes. I usually just cook like this and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States