Mexican Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
It really is easier to just not change the water again, but you might get a slightly less appealing looking broth. The other thing is that these are not "refried beans", so if that's what you are looking for you wont get with this recipe. One suggestion though (from a Mexican), follow these directions as they are. Once you have your cooked beans, take a skillet and pour some oil (maybe about 1/4 cup) heat the oil and take beans from the pot (drain the liquid first) and fry them in the oil. Mash them up while they are frying. You could also stir in some milk for a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first time out I made them as per the recipe. They were ok. Second time, I added some chopped onions, diced tomatoes cilantro and salt and pepper to taste. Much better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frontenac, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I enjoyed it the first time, doing exactly what the recipe called for, but I loved it the second time when I added onions, jalapeno, garlic, diced tomatoes, cummin, cilantro, chili powder, and a copious amount of sea salt. It's a great recipe for starting out and finding what else you might want to add. Don't forget to soak your beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
My family loves this dish! My husband is Hispanic and he loves beans served this way. Even my mom, in the South, thinks it's wonderful. They're easy to serve as refried beans as well. Just heat oil in a pan, add beans and mash with a wooden spoon as they cook. Ready in about five minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Great start to the guaracho beans like at the Mexican Restaurant and I've tried to duplicate at home. Add onions to the first cooking, some cumin, and some garlic. At the last few minutes , add fresh cilantro. Delicious side dish without all the added fat to refry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I thought these were very bland. I couldn't taste the flavor of the peppers at all and they needed A LOT of salt. I also thought there was too much water. It diluted the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
They're beans! They are supposed to be somewhat bland - they are a side dish to compliment the other items in your meal. This is not a soup recipe. The only thing I change is when adding the water the second time - add one whole beer. Any beer, but a medium ale is really good. Not all beans taste good cooked with beer, but I think it really makes pinto's great. Another trick, you can try covering and cooking them in a 350 degree oven instead of the stove top. For some reason, the all around heat makes the texture better than the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Simple and delicious! This is how my grandmother used to make them for me, and cornbread goes great with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I ended up adding an onion, garlic salt, and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
the reason you drain the first water is so your beans won't give you GAS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usapeach58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States