Mexican Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
the reason you drain the first water is so your beans won't give you GAS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usapeach58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Didn't have serrano peppers so subbed chipotle in. Used as a side for a meal then filling with tortillas for the next day... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Great, easy and plenty of good feedback for alternative recipes. I usually just cook like this and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is absolutely the easiest way to cook delicious beans! No veggies to chop makes mama happy...new favorite way to cook beans when serving mexican food. Followed recipe exactly and added a little salt after cooking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
They're beans! They are supposed to be somewhat bland - they are a side dish to compliment the other items in your meal. This is not a soup recipe. The only thing I change is when adding the water the second time - add one whole beer. Any beer, but a medium ale is really good. Not all beans taste good cooked with beer, but I think it really makes pinto's great. Another trick, you can try covering and cooking them in a 350 degree oven instead of the stove top. For some reason, the all around heat makes the texture better than the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This needs a few more ingredients (salt/pepper, for instance) to make this a decent dish. My folks were from Texas. We had beans almost every day, including pinto beans. Mom cooked very plainly: pinto beans, salt and pepper, bacon or ham hocks or a ham bone. That was pretty much it for her bean recipe. I prefer something with a bit more ingredients. If you don't like the heat from the hot peppers, cut them first, and remove the seeds. Alot of heat are in those seeds. The reason you let the beans sit after the first cooking of an hour is so they will get soft. Oh, if you add salt, add it just before the beans are done. Salt will toughen the beans. Most people prefer letting the beans soak overnight and then change the water. That takes the "toot" out of the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a very good basic recipe for pinto beans. Like other reviews suggested I also had to add a bit more flavor, that's why I only gave it 4 stars. I added 1 tsp salt, 1 tbsp of powdered chicken broth and 1/2 chopped onion. I only had jalapenos on hand so I used 2 of those instead. I also didn't change the water. I like a more concentrated bean broth. I let it simmer for a total of 2 1/2 hours and geez louiz was it good. My husband loved it! I might cut the bacon back a little next time, but I won't tell him that. :) Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I had to give it 5 stars because this is how I have seen it done here in Texas my whole life and they taste like they should. Pinto Beans. We always added hot chow chow, or some sliced jalepenos, or what have you to our own bowls and salt and pepper as you want. Just reminds me of lazy Sundays. Oh, and make a big skillet of HomeSteaders corn bread found on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I added some extra things to spice my beans up, but this was a great basic recipe- much easier than soaking them overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Like many slow-simmered recipes, this one is better the second day. The liquid is thicker, and the flavors are blended, so the bacon flavor is more subtle. If you're not familiar with serrano peppers, do note that they're quite a bit hotter than jalapeños, and provide quite a kick when they get soft enough to break open in the pot of beans. I've found that one, simmered whole and then broken with a spoon and stirred around provides a moderate amount of heat, which is always easier to add than subtract, of course. This is a good base recipe that lends itself to a lot of experimentation and customization: I recommend heating a bowl of it, melting a cheese single and stirring in some chunky salsa for a great bean dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States