Mexican Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
The only thing I did different was cut a poblano pepper in half and placed on top. Our grocery store did not have serrano peppers but I did shop one day before Cinco de Mayo. We actually really liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Super easy and SUPER good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsoliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I added in onion, jalapeno, tomato, bacon and topped with cheese and cilantro - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Needs salt.and the serrano peppers did add much flavor either. Very dissapointed. If you are looking to make flavorful beans then try another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These beans were a hit at our dinner party, though I found that they didn't taste as good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ospooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is simular to the way my mom made them, but we do it in a pressure cooker so don't have to cook so long. Sort beans, bring to a boil with about 1 inch of water. Let set 1 hour. Put in pressure cooker with any other ingredents like onion, bacon, sausage, hamburger, pepper, spices. Put on lid tight. Bring pressure up and let cook one half hour then let pressure come down on it's own.(about another half an hour) Beans should be done. Good with cornbread, rice or fried potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Pretty good - I cook them uncovered for the last 1 1/2 to thicken - and I use a couple of Goya Ham packets to punch up the smoky, ham flavor... they're ALMOST like our favorite Mexican restaurant here in Central Jersey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Last time I put in 5 of the small Chinese chili's and this was ok, next time I'd do the same. I also used a piece of stomach cut from the wet market. I'm going to get a bigger piece for the same purpose this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I added a finely diced onion as well. If you want more heat, split open the peppers after it's cooked and stir it around a bit to distribute the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovemath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
very easy and delicious, I add carrot and garlic and onion sauted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States