Mexican Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is the best pesto ever!!! And I've made my fair share. I eyeballed the oil, substituted jalapeño for the chili and added 1/2 a lime. I don't typically salt my food, so left it out. Thank you for sharing!!! I'm gonna put this on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
try using scapes 1 pound with 1 1/2 cups cojita cheese a Serrano pepper, cilantro to taste and a little cholula and blend with olive oil. No salt needed. When done, freeze in ice cube trays, pop them out and store in zip top bag in freezer for easy portioned servings. Oh and you can add some Greek yogurt or some sour cream or creme fresca to make a great spread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Too much garlic for me. Next time I will cut in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I roasted the pumpkin seeds, serrano pepper and garlic. Will use this for a lot of things. Used it like the tomato sauce of pizza, with a flour tortilla for the crust. Added a few chopped vine ripened tomatoes, chicken and panela cheese. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Arcadia, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Super Fresh! Mistakenly bought a habanero instead of serrano, so it has some kick, but is delicious! Also omitted the cheese due to dairy allergy in the family. Great pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Ken, this is so very yummy! I made this tonight and just wanted to leave my dinner at that! I did use a jalapeno rather than a Serrano because of the heat. So very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Awesome with just the right amount of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I've been making this for 20 years! Always a hit, especially with people who don't like basil pesto! Queso Fresco works too if you don't have Cotija.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Okay I have made this pesto twice already. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, and it was good but it was my first time tasting pesto so I could not measure it up against anything. The second time I made it I used everything but to brighten the flavor up I used half the olive oil and the other half I used lemon juice. I did not have anymore Serrano peppers so I used 3 dashes of red pepper flakes and it came out so fresh and so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I love cotija and pepitas so i was loking for something to do with them besides on my salads. Found this and liked it, i did add some lime juice because mine was kind of thick. I also didnt add salt because of the cheese and my pepitas were salted. Now to figure out what im going to put it on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States