Mexican Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Ken, You are Amazing!! This pesto Rocks!! I made it just like it was written. Be careful with the salt, I used kosher salt and along with the cheese, I thought it was a little too salty,my fault. I Still loved it. We don't like our food screaming hot so I made it with 2 tbs of chopped canned jalapeno peppers. I made grilled carne asada to go with this and wrapped the meat along with the pesto in corn tortillas. Fabulous!! Thanks again Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The salt may or may not be needed depending on the Cotija you use. Some can be overly salty. A good sub would be Romano cheese if you don't have Cotija
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This stuff is awesome! I followed the recipe exactly, and served it with fetticuini noodles and chicken milensa. The flavors went so well together, the spicy balanced out by the garlic and cilantro! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was excellent...I used pine nuts instead of the pumpkin seeds (what I had)...I didnt add salt the cheese was very salty.....I reccomend you taste it before adding additional salt....I served it over salmon .fillets...thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I've made this twice and the only change was to not use the full amount of oil so I wouldn't feel bad eating it all in one sitting. First time I topped blackened chicken breast,pasta and halved cherry tomatoes with this for a very easy and yummy meal. The second time my father ate most of the batch himself on tortilla chips after saying he didn't like cilantro. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Easy and Delicious. I used a jalepeno instead of a serrano because I am a wimp and subbed some of the olive oil with chicken stock to cut calories. I served this over grilled chicken breast and it was wonderul. I can't wait to have leftovers later this week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good you just need to add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
yummmmmm.i have cilantro in my herb garden and also a patch of lush green basil.I tried the cilantro and now will try the same recipe with basil.Cant wait to try out tomorrow :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I used this recipe as more of a guide on what to put in. I did it to taste - more of some ingredients less of others. I will say that I used far less oil than was called for. It turned out great! Also - try adding a couple spoonfuls to a mashed avacado - YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Fantastic, just as I expected! I had to use Parmesan because I couldn't find cotija, but it was still AMAZING! Served over seared Tuna Steaks. Can't wait to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States