Mexican Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is amazing. I substituted in pistachios and Parmesan (what I had on hand), and it was incredible. Used it couple nights on chicken breasts and again on pasta, and froze the rest in ice cube trays to be able to use whenever! Great way to use up cilantro! Definitely a new favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Outstanding! I used parm (couldn't find cotija) and a random pepper from our garden. I just kept adding pepper until it was right. I'm bummed that I didn't think of making this before! So many wasted half eaten bunches of cilantro. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
So good! I was looking for a simple recipe to use up some Cotija cheese we had left over from another dish. I made a few changes to avoid going to the store. I didn't have any pumpkin seeds on hand, but I did have unsalted roasted sunflower kernels so I used those instead. I didnt' add any salt at all, since the cheese is pretty salty. Also, I didn't have a serrano...just used red pepper flakes. It was a pantry dinner kind of day. Can't decide what I am going to put this on for dinner yet...you could pair it with so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
We really enjoyed this as a topping for Barramundi. I just dredged the fillets in flour and seasoned salt, then pan fried them until they were golden and flaky. Added this fabulous pesto to make a delicious dish! I made this ahead and it was still good. I think the flavor might have been stronger if I hadn't waited to use it, but it was still wonderful and a nice change from basil based pesto. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is excellent - I didn't have pumpkin seeds on hand or Cotija Cheese. I substituted the cheese with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This recipe was DELICIOUS!~ : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Amazing! I admit I was wary, even with all the 5 stars, but I made this one weekend while the kids were at their dad's, and ADORED it! I had some left when they returned and 2 of my 3 boys were giving it praises. Thanks Ken for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great recipe, the only thing I did different is toast the pumpkin seeds before blending. Just toast until they pop. It brings out a more authentic Mexican flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Used feta instead of cojita and worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Fantastic, just as I expected! I had to use Parmesan because I couldn't find cotija, but it was still AMAZING! Served over seared Tuna Steaks. Can't wait to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States