Mexican Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
we all (including my 2 year old) really enjoyed this for dinner. i made a few alterations: added garlic in with the peppers and onion used one onion instead of 2 used a whole can of corn kidney beans instead of black beans added some chopped cilantro added a spoonful of sour cream at the end topped each bowlful with shredded cheddar cheese i think it will make delicious leftovers (reheated in the stove) and i think i will do what another reviewer suggested and add crumbled tortilla chips to the mix. i love that you can adjust it to whatever you have on hand and its pretty well rounded. thanks for a new staple item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Raub Gragg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I added chopmeat as well. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Very tasty. Didn't have fresh onion so sprinkled on some dried chopped onion. Don't like green pepper or olives so didn't use them. Don't know how people are calling it bland - didn't even "salt and pepper" to taste - salsa and taco seasoning are salty enogh. Used whole can of corn (drained.) Added about 4 Tblspns of neufchatel cheese. Maybe I didn't drain cans as well as I should have - would have liked sauce to be a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I didn't have olives or salsa, and I used fresh tomatoes and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulettep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very, very tasty...with more taco seasoning and cumin. I used kidney beans (drained) as DS doesn't like black beans. I also added unseasoned cooked ground beef and onion as I had some leftover. To make it a one-dish recipe, I also added 1 8-oz. can of tomato sauce and 2-3 cans of water before tossing in the uncooked pasta (used macaroni as that's what was on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is really tasty. A vegetarian version of chili mac. Will definitely make again. I left out the black olives. Used hot salsa (Herdez brand. Also, I don't like packaged taco seasoning mix so I used a mixture which I use when I make tacos. The mixture contains chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Added about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and omitted olives. I really liked it, wife thought it was good. Super easy and super fast and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious and a fun twist on the boring old pasta salad. I doubled the amount of taco seasoning and added 3 tablespoons of sour cream to thicken the sauce. Best eaten warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Tweed Agnew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'm always a little leery when I see things like pre-packaged taco seasoning and salsa as ingredients in a recipe, as you could end up with something akin to Hamburger Helper (which I love, but I'm not about to go out and buy loads of ingredients and devote time to cooking something that tastes like it), but this is pretty good. I think it needs some cheese, but it's still fine (and probably healthier) without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
The basics of this recipe are good, but like some other members, I tasted it when it was cooking and found it bland. For starters I only used a half of a moderately large onion instead of two onions, a whole can of corn, and upped the amount of salsa from 1/4 cup to a full cup. Before it was rather dry, and I think the extra salsa not only spiced it up, but gave it some extra liquid that it needed. I also used more taco seasoning than the recipe called for, and added a bit of chili pepper with my salt and pepper (with just a tiny dash of garlic powder). I think those adjustments gave it the kick it was missing. Next time, I'm going to take some suggestions from other reviewers and add some sour cream and pepperjack cheese to it. Maybe a bag of Morningstar's fake ground beef crumbles (or regular ground beef for you meat eaters!). It's a good recipe, I think it just needs a little customization to make it less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States