Mexican Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I must admit I was a bit skeptical about this recipe, but it was excellent. Don't be scared off by the strange combination of ingredients -- this is a hearty vegetarian meal with great flavor and texture! I modified this recipe by only using one half of one onion (just seemed like too much otherwise). In addition, I used about half of a can of diced tomatoes, since I wanted the sauce to be thicker. I used a little cheese, and, since my family doesn't like peppers, I omitted them, and used diced avocado as a garnish for color and flavor. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This recipe is fabulous! I ommitted the olives, used extra salsa (fresh "Mi Abuelo brand from the refrigerated section of Sam's Club--excellent!), and farfalle (bowtie) pasta. I then topped it with melted colby/jack and sour cream, mixed it all together and reheated it to make a warm, creamy sauce. Top it off with crumbled blue corn chips and you'll be in comfort-food heaven!!! It was so good that I made it again as soon it was gone!!! Tip: I didn't like the McCormick taco seasoning as well as other brands. The Taco Bell brand was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
SO Tasty!! I added about 3 tbsp. of cream cheese to the sauce to make it nice and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Everyone loved this recipe! I doubled everything except the beans. I used Rotel in place of plain stewed tomatoes. It had just the right amount of zing! This will be a tried and true cookbook addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
"Good" pasta. Not great but certainly NOT bad either! I omitted the beans and used a whole can of corn (drained). Also, I added 2 TBLS of sour cream and the end and mixed it in to better make a sauce. This recipe is a cross between a pasta casserole and a chili..but good! I think some seasoned grilled chicken strips could add a nice touch as well..or even some shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks Mimi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was a great recipe. I didn't have any black beans, so I used a whole can of corn. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes. The combination of ingredients sounds strange, but tasted excellent. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This was really good! I was a little worried because it sounded like an odd mixture of ingredients, but it turned out well. It was also very colorful ~ it would be a pretty dish to bring to a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
For some reason I read this as a pasta salad not warm pasta. So I made it that way. Don't like olives or green bell pepper so I didn't add either. Used farfalle pasta and an entire package of reduced sodium taco seasoning as well as diced canned tomatoes with mild jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Wonderful meal! I added ground turkey & my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
It was good, but it was better on tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States