Mexican Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I didn't have olives or salsa, and I used fresh tomatoes and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulettep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very, very tasty...with more taco seasoning and cumin. I used kidney beans (drained) as DS doesn't like black beans. I also added unseasoned cooked ground beef and onion as I had some leftover. To make it a one-dish recipe, I also added 1 8-oz. can of tomato sauce and 2-3 cans of water before tossing in the uncooked pasta (used macaroni as that's what was on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is really tasty. A vegetarian version of chili mac. Will definitely make again. I left out the black olives. Used hot salsa (Herdez brand. Also, I don't like packaged taco seasoning mix so I used a mixture which I use when I make tacos. The mixture contains chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Added about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and omitted olives. I really liked it, wife thought it was good. Super easy and super fast and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious and a fun twist on the boring old pasta salad. I doubled the amount of taco seasoning and added 3 tablespoons of sour cream to thicken the sauce. Best eaten warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Tweed Agnew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'm always a little leery when I see things like pre-packaged taco seasoning and salsa as ingredients in a recipe, as you could end up with something akin to Hamburger Helper (which I love, but I'm not about to go out and buy loads of ingredients and devote time to cooking something that tastes like it), but this is pretty good. I think it needs some cheese, but it's still fine (and probably healthier) without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
The basics of this recipe are good, but like some other members, I tasted it when it was cooking and found it bland. For starters I only used a half of a moderately large onion instead of two onions, a whole can of corn, and upped the amount of salsa from 1/4 cup to a full cup. Before it was rather dry, and I think the extra salsa not only spiced it up, but gave it some extra liquid that it needed. I also used more taco seasoning than the recipe called for, and added a bit of chili pepper with my salt and pepper (with just a tiny dash of garlic powder). I think those adjustments gave it the kick it was missing. Next time, I'm going to take some suggestions from other reviewers and add some sour cream and pepperjack cheese to it. Maybe a bag of Morningstar's fake ground beef crumbles (or regular ground beef for you meat eaters!). It's a good recipe, I think it just needs a little customization to make it less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Oh my gosh, this is fantastic! It tasted fresh and wholesome--because it was! A yummy meatless meal--but you could easily add some diced chicken or ground turkey or beef. It's easy and inexpensive. I followed the recipe except for the bell pepper because I didn't have one on hand that night. I'd say the taco seasoning is unnecessary--next time I'll just throw in a bit more salsa. I'll also use rotini pasta (I use whole wheat); we're not that fond of shell pasta. I really love that this dish can be adjusted to one's liking so easily. Oh, we threw a sprinkling of Cheddar cheese over our servings, which added even more yumminess...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very tasty! I didn't use olives or salsa (I love them, just didn't have any on hand) added jalapeno's and "Fiesta blend" cheese at the end- VERY good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindipity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jackson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My 4 year old cleaned his plate! My family cannot eat tomatos, so I took those and the salsa out, but with 4 oz of cheese added at the end, we didn't miss the flavor. I also added black pepper and garlic, and it made a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States