Mexican Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I must admit I was a bit skeptical about this recipe, but it was excellent. Don't be scared off by the strange combination of ingredients -- this is a hearty vegetarian meal with great flavor and texture! I modified this recipe by only using one half of one onion (just seemed like too much otherwise). In addition, I used about half of a can of diced tomatoes, since I wanted the sauce to be thicker. I used a little cheese, and, since my family doesn't like peppers, I omitted them, and used diced avocado as a garnish for color and flavor. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This recipe is fabulous! I ommitted the olives, used extra salsa (fresh "Mi Abuelo brand from the refrigerated section of Sam's Club--excellent!), and farfalle (bowtie) pasta. I then topped it with melted colby/jack and sour cream, mixed it all together and reheated it to make a warm, creamy sauce. Top it off with crumbled blue corn chips and you'll be in comfort-food heaven!!! It was so good that I made it again as soon it was gone!!! Tip: I didn't like the McCormick taco seasoning as well as other brands. The Taco Bell brand was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
SO Tasty!! I added about 3 tbsp. of cream cheese to the sauce to make it nice and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Everyone loved this recipe! I doubled everything except the beans. I used Rotel in place of plain stewed tomatoes. It had just the right amount of zing! This will be a tried and true cookbook addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
"Good" pasta. Not great but certainly NOT bad either! I omitted the beans and used a whole can of corn (drained). Also, I added 2 TBLS of sour cream and the end and mixed it in to better make a sauce. This recipe is a cross between a pasta casserole and a chili..but good! I think some seasoned grilled chicken strips could add a nice touch as well..or even some shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks Mimi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was a great recipe. I didn't have any black beans, so I used a whole can of corn. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes. The combination of ingredients sounds strange, but tasted excellent. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This was really good! I was a little worried because it sounded like an odd mixture of ingredients, but it turned out well. It was also very colorful ~ it would be a pretty dish to bring to a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
For some reason I read this as a pasta salad not warm pasta. So I made it that way. Don't like olives or green bell pepper so I didn't add either. Used farfalle pasta and an entire package of reduced sodium taco seasoning as well as diced canned tomatoes with mild jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Wonderful meal! I added ground turkey & my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
It was good, but it was better on tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States