Mexican Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Susan Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Wow! These are really nice. As the first to review the recipe I'm glad I could give it a high rating. The flavor ends up being more cinnamon than chocolate, because the Mexican chocolate is spiced with cinnamon. The dough was really easy to mix, and in the baking process the cookies don't spread much, which means they can be baked in bigger batches. The baking time is right on - since I live at a higher altitude, 12 minutes was perfect. For those who are not familiar with Mexican chocolate, it comes in a hexagonal box with four round, scored blocks of chocolate. I've found it in my local supermarket in the Mexican food section, and also at Amazon.com. My husband and I are both really pleased with these cookies. They are filling the house with a wonderful aroma as I write. Thanks for a great recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Was disappointed in flavor of this cookie. Would not make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Thumbs up from everyone who tried one. These bake up much lighter than my usual oatmeal cookie recipe, which we liked. The Mexican chocolate and cinnamon flavors are subtle and well blended. I cut the brown sugar back to 3/4 cup and the white sugar back to 1/4 cup and we thought they were sweet enough. I got 48 nice size cookies and 11 minutes seemed to be the right baking time in my oven Thanks, Swooda these will become part of my cookie repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made half the recipe to try. Good flavor and baked beautifully, looking professional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Yummy!!! I used cinnamon chocolate chips as that's what I had on hand and because they were cinnamon chips I didn't add the cinnamon, I might next time though. Thanks for the recipe will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I had the Mexican chocolate and the oats in my cupboard and a new Ninja Blender to try out, so I decided to give these a try. We really enjoyed them. They have a very delicate, but perfect balance of chocolate and cinnimon. I considered adding cinnamon chips, but I'm glad I didn't. They don't need a thing! The texture is better than most oatmeal cookies, probably due to the use of the blender to cut the oats up in smaller pieces. I used my medium size scoop for the dough and it made exactly three dozen 2 1/2 inch coocies. We give this recipe two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These cookies bake up beautifully and taste great! I used 2tsp of cinnamon which was the perfect compliment to the bar of Mexican chocolate. And I agree with others, 12 minutes to bake is perfect. This will be a recipe we use regularly. Thanks Swooda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
amazing, these are so good and i was able to get 4 dozen easy out of this recipe using a small ice cream scooper. They were easy to make. If you like cinnamon you have to make these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
These cookies were yummy and baked up very nicely, but had much more cinnamon flavor than I expected, especially considering that I only used 1 tsp. instead of the 2 called for. Next time I try these I plan to only pulse the chocolate until it is the size of chocolate chips. My only real complaint with the recipe is that it doesn't state a precise measurement for the chocolate, but I used about 3.5 oz. of a bar of Ibarra Mexican Chocolate and it seemed to be about the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I placed a heart shaped red hot in the center of each after they came out of the oven. Yummy. I also made sure to roll each into a ball so they baked up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States