Mexican Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
First time making mole and it was awesome! Followed a few suggestions from other comments. Used olive oil, some extra (fresh) onion, crushed tomatoes, dark cocoa powder, extra cumin, a little cayenne, a lot of fresh garlic, crushed almonds, a little coriander, and a little garlic sea Salt. Made the sauce last night and refrigerated, then put in the crock pot with a couple raw chicken breads all day today on low. Broke the gicken up with a fork and mixed in about 1 loose cup of fresh cilantro. Served with tortillas and rice. De-lish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by admoore72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I use this recipe to make the sauce for tamales. It's perfect and whips up so quickly. I use ingredients (except for the cocoa powder) from my garden--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I liked it as is, but LOVED it with the following changes: as someone else suggested, I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of the soup. I added 2 Tbsp. of cocoa powder and 3 squares of 70% dark chocolate, 1 Tbsp. of chili powder, 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon and approx. 2 Tbsp. of Chipotle Tobasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is a great base recipe, but the flavors were a little too "dark" for me. I suggest adding more cumin, lime juice, and some tabasco or sirracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was okay. I doubled the chocolate as others had suggested, used two cans of tomato sauce instead of the soup asc I didn't have any soup on hand. I served it over pre-ooked chicken breasts. If I try it again, I will follow the recipe as written and use it to cook the chicken in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Five stars just for the ease and simplicity of this recipe. Not quite the mole I'm used to, but very respectable. I did not use the condensed tomato soup because I didn't have any on hand, but rather some tomato paste which I thinned with water. I added a pinch of ground cinnamon (personal preference) and a little more cumin. I mixed the sauce directly into some shredded cooked chicken breasts and served in warm tortillas. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I found a recipe for Turkey Mole Soup but couldn't find Mole sauce in the stores were I live so I made my own from this recipe. It was easy, good on the pocket book and tastes great. It makes a lot more than I needed so I put the excess in ice cube trays and froze, when frozen put them in a lock bag to use another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Gillis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was a good recipe, but it lacked the depth I'm used to from a mole sauce at a Mexican restaurant. It was easy to make, and I added some chicken that I'd marinated in a chicken fajita marinade, which added a little something. Went well with Mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe and to all the reviewers for the excellent modifications. My husband loves true mole and he said I did it. I did change it liberally in accordance w/ the other reviews, but still kept it simple. I used 2 tbsp cocoa powder; added an extra 1/8 of cumin; used one tbsp fresh cilantro; instead of green chiles or tomato soup, I used one 10 oz can of Rotel (tomatoes and green chiles). I also added 1.5 tbsp peanut butter; 1.5 tbsp cinnamon, a liberal sprinkling of cayenne pepper and then added 1/2 a rotisserie chicken, letting that sit in the sauce on low heat for about an hour, stirring occassionally. I then wrapped it in tortillas and covered it with mexican cheese and put it in the oven for 5 minutes on 350. I added avocado. Next time, I will make a separate batch of sauce to pour over, but otherwise, it tasted like true mole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States