Mexican Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Delicious! After reading the reviews and how nobody liked rolling it jelly roll style, I decided to try it a different way. I put about half of the meat mixture in the bottom of a pan shaped in an oval with a bit of a ridge going around the outer edge. I layered everything, shaped the top half of the ground meat into an oval, placed it on top, then pinched the two halves together. Pinch them well, or your layers will all leak out! I also put some cheese on top of the loaf during the last five minutes. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a great change from typical meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I havent had a chance to taste it but there was no way i could roll that however i can say that i tried so i just layered it exactly how it was said to layer before the roll adding an extra layer of cheese on top i also added a can of green chiles drained and black olives, im going ahead and cooking it for an hour to make sure that it does cook all the way through and i did shape it into a loaf with alumanim foil all around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very yummy meatloaf! I made a few changes so I could use ingredients I already had, and they worked okay. I added some garlic salt and chopped onion to the meat mixture, I heated and mashed some kidney beans instead of refried beans, and I used a bottle of La Victoria salsa verde mixed with some sour cream. Like everyone else said, I had a really hard time rolling it, and it crumbled on serving, but the flavor was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Took much longer to get done than recipe indicated. I would not wrap completely in foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This seemed weird to me at first and we needed a bit of practice with the rolling part, but now this twist on meatloaf is a monthly favorite. I use chipotle refried beans and my own taco seasoning spice blend to give it more kick. I also use ground sirloin, 2% cheese, and two low-carb wraps to help keep it healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Unimpressed. I generally don't review recipes, but this one was not forgettable. The flavors aren't bad, but the appearance was atrocious! I would highly recommend making a 1/3-1/2 inch thick slab of meat rather than 1". By the time you add refried beans & tortillas, it is nearly impossibly to roll. I would make a rectagular shape 7x14 type size, 2 tortillas thick on each end. All in all, it can be saved, but I was not impressed. The flavors didn't blend as well as I would have hoped, altho better rolling technique will help. Best of luck & don't try it on company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Didn't change a thing. Everyone loved it!!! Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My husband and I both liked the taste of this, but I think the procedure needs tweaking. I found the layers slid as I tried to roll it, and it didn't turn out very pretty. I had the foresight to put the foil wrapped roll into a loaf pan, and it's a good thing I did since the foil leaked a lot of liquid. I will make this again, but layer the meat, then beans, tortillas, cheese and the remainder of the meat in a loaf pan, top it with the salsa, and bake it for an hour. Oh, and I only used half the beans in the meatloaf and served the rest on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Not bad. But I would stick with bread crumbs. It was to soft and crumbly. But it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States