Mexican Layered Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I added the taco seasoning to the sour cream and used canned diced tomatoes (to make it easier). It was ABSOLUTELY delicious and a definite crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I make this often and my family loves it. I would suggest mixing the taco seasoning into the refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was a big hit at the office. I mixed the taco seasoning with the sour cream. I also layered the guacamole in between the beans and the sour cream to prevent browning. Chopped jalapenos give it a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This recipe was the hit of my party. I listened to some other reviewers and I sprinkled taco seasoning on top of the beans, but I also mixed it in with the sour cream which just tasted amazing! I also used salsa instead of tomatoes, and I added black olives, and jalapenos on top. I heated the layers, up to the cheese and toppings, except for the sour cream. After the cheese was melted, I removed the dip from the oven, let it cool for a minute or two, and then I added the sour cream on top. It was the favorite dish of the evening, and it made it to my "make again and again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I am giving this 4 stars because I made a couple of changes that I probably should not have. We started eating it immediately after I made it and it was way too rich (change #1)! So we decided to stick in the refrigerator and try it again the next night. By this time it was too watery because I had used a can of diced tomatoes w/green chiles (change #2) that I thought I had thoroughly drained but it was a soupy mess! May try again after chilling the 2 hours as stated in the recipe. Thanks Rusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICBEN
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I made this for a work party that I went to... it was a HUGE hit... I got a lot of good comments on it. My mom used to make this when we went to parties but the taco seasoning mix addition was new to me. I added salsa instead of tomatos and layered the bottom with shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
My Bunko group loved this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Great vegitarian alternative to seven layer dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This dip has gotten rave reviews every time I've made it. Quick and easy, it's been served at staff parties, tailgates, barbecues, and picnics. Easily customizable, I usually place the green onion and olives off to the side. Thank you, Rusty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Never fails to be a huge hit.. and it only takes minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States