Mexican Layered Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I added the taco seasoning to the sour cream and used canned diced tomatoes (to make it easier). It was ABSOLUTELY delicious and a definite crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I make this often and my family loves it. I would suggest mixing the taco seasoning into the refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was a big hit at the office. I mixed the taco seasoning with the sour cream. I also layered the guacamole in between the beans and the sour cream to prevent browning. Chopped jalapenos give it a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This recipe was the hit of my party. I listened to some other reviewers and I sprinkled taco seasoning on top of the beans, but I also mixed it in with the sour cream which just tasted amazing! I also used salsa instead of tomatoes, and I added black olives, and jalapenos on top. I heated the layers, up to the cheese and toppings, except for the sour cream. After the cheese was melted, I removed the dip from the oven, let it cool for a minute or two, and then I added the sour cream on top. It was the favorite dish of the evening, and it made it to my "make again and again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I am giving this 4 stars because I made a couple of changes that I probably should not have. We started eating it immediately after I made it and it was way too rich (change #1)! So we decided to stick in the refrigerator and try it again the next night. By this time it was too watery because I had used a can of diced tomatoes w/green chiles (change #2) that I thought I had thoroughly drained but it was a soupy mess! May try again after chilling the 2 hours as stated in the recipe. Thanks Rusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICBEN
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I made this for a work party that I went to... it was a HUGE hit... I got a lot of good comments on it. My mom used to make this when we went to parties but the taco seasoning mix addition was new to me. I added salsa instead of tomatos and layered the bottom with shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Luce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
My Bunko group loved this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Great vegitarian alternative to seven layer dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This dip has gotten rave reviews every time I've made it. Quick and easy, it's been served at staff parties, tailgates, barbecues, and picnics. Easily customizable, I usually place the green onion and olives off to the side. Thank you, Rusty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
We haven't had a dip on the weekend in a long time, this was perfect for a special treat. I made this last night, then covered it and let it sit overnight. I used my own homemade refried beans, my own homemade taco seasoning mix, doubled the diced tomatoes and I made my own guacamole. I stirred the taco seasoning into the sour cream instead of sprinkling it over the beans. I also doubled the cheese. Really really good. We've been snacking on it for the last hour and it's almost gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States