Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This came out great! I love anything pasta/Italian and my wife loves all things Mexican. What a cool combo. I did make a few tweaks. I boiled my noodles (al dente). I browned the beef (we're vegetarian so I actually used faux beef - worked awesome), added taco seasoning (followed taco season directions), and then added/mixed refried beans to meat in skillet. Then in a bowl I mixed 2 16oz jars of salsa, 1 can of red chilli enchilada sauce, and about 1/4 of jar of taco sauce - used this as my "sauce." Then I simply layered noodles, meat/beans, sauce, and mexi shredded cheese (used 4 cup bag) like I would if it was a regular lasagna. Baked @ 350 for 45min. covered with tin foil. Uncovered and baked another 10min. I then used the sour cream and green onion mixture as a chilled topping per serving. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used tortillas in place of lasagna noodles. Easier to stack, making this a quick dinner. Mexican oregano is a great spice for this - also a great opportunity to use up some leftover charred BBQ corn... Didn't use water - the salsa is plenty liquid. Add some green chilies for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeeSep
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was a pretty easy recipe to follow as well as alter and enjoy. We used all ingredients as followed only omitting the olives and using light sour cream and whole wheat lasagna. I made the beef and beans mixture and included taco seasoning along with the seasons called for. I layered each layer with pepper jack slices and topped it off with A Mexican blend shredded cheese (Monterey Jack, cheddar). I added 1 1/2 cup of water and a 8oz can of salsa. All of it came out nicely and yummy. It was a hit and will save to make again. I think next time I will add salsa to the bottom to give my pasta moisture down there as well as in the middle. My pasta was a little burned but that was my fault. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I agree, this was surprisingly delicious! Unless you feel like an arm workout, while the beef drains heat the beans in the same pan with the spices, then add the meat once hot. Unlike most reviewers, my family enjoyed the light flavoring of the bean/beef mixture. I did not boil the noodles but instead of pouring the salsa/water mixture over the top, I added it between each layer. I wanted to freeze most of this, so I did not put the sour cream on at the end, instead dressing each piece with some. We will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Try one cup water. I ended up with a soup. We ate it because it was a lot to through away. I'll try a different recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe was totally awesome! I enjoyed making it and my daughter and her boyfriend loved eating it. I know next time I will make a few alternations for taste but I will be using this as the base recipe. Thanks POPCKLGAL for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
For us, this recipe is a regular. Very tasty! And easy to prepare. I had some trouble with the noodles cooking all the way in the oven so here are some alterations so that you can make it with cooked noodles: 1. Cook the noodles on the stove before layering in the lasagna. 2. I used only 9 noodles to make it less "noodly". 3. Omit the water if you cook the noodles before hand. 4. Season the beef!! 5. Double the sour cream! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I only had 8 lasagna noodles so used a little smaller baking dish and used only 2 cups of water. I found there was just enough of the meat mixture for the smaller dish. I mixed the beans and seasonings with the drained ground beef in the pan to save on cleaning a bowl. I don't like sour cream so just added the green onions, black olives and cheese on top for the last 5 minutes. I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Excellent....used taco seasoning instead of the various spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this recipe for my husband and three kids (7, 3, 2) and it was a hit! The only change I made was substituting the Pepper Jack cheese for cheddar cheese. We had made it a couple times and it is a definite keeper! I've even passed the recipe to some family members who loved it as well. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States