Mexican Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
YUM! Like most people, I added a few things to this recipe. I added a can of corn and a can of diced tomatoes w/ green chiles to the meat. Seasoned the meat with cumin, garlic powder, and chili powder along with adding the taco seasoning. Also added 2 layers of enchilada sauce and 1 layer of sour cream. Added black olives to the top layer. Reduced the beans to one can, but might try 2 next time. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Here is what I did- and its a keeper! I sauteed onion with the ground beef. Then added the taco mix, refried beans, one can rotel, and one can mexicorn. Layered tortillas with meat mixture and cheese, and then baked. Topped with onions, tomatoes, black olives, and avocado. Served with sour cream and salsa on the side! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Seems I'm no better than the rest. I aslo changed this one to meet my family's taste. I left out the beans. I added peperjack cheese to give it a little more spice. I baked it in a pie pan because the tortillas fit perfectly in it. I served it in wedges with lettuce, tomatoe, onions, and sour cream on top. The end result my family loved it. Thanks for a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I'm no different than most of everybody else who rated this, I changed up mine quite a bit. I actually used a lot of your reviews to come up with my own version. I browned my meat with some onion and about 5 cloves of chopped garlic (that was using restraint too!)added taco seasoning, small can of corn, 3/4 can of chopped tomatoes with green chilis would have added a can of green chilis alone but my 8 yr old wont do it. put tortillas on bottom of pan, added enchilada sauce on top, put a layer of meat mixture on then sliced mozzerella and shredded sharp cheddar and repeated with a final layer of cheese on top. It was really yummy and husband and child thought so too. 8yro had 3rds! Forgot to serve with sour cream and when we were done eating my hubby said it sure would have been good with some s.c. !! It isn't worthy of a 5 star rating though those are for exceptionally great dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Good base recipe. I decreased the beans to one can. I also added a 1/4 cup layer of sour cream and 1/2 cup layer of picante sauce in the middle. It quickly disappeared at a teacher luncheon. Many came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Ok I know you shouldn't make new dishes for guests, but I had to make this. It turned out so GOOD!!!! My husband and I can not wait to eat the leftovers. I followed the recipe, but I added more ingredients: I added slasa, black olives, canned diced tomatoes (instead of fresh), onions (instead of green onions), and mozerella cheese in addition to the cheddar. I will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was easy and we enjoyed it. I did make a few changes, didn't use refried beans at all, instead used a can of undrained black beans, a can of drained Rotel tomatoes, and about 5 roasted/chopped green chilis. Also used 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 pepper jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
yummy! I love how the tortillas become noodle-like when baked (hence "lasagna"). This recipe's pretty versatile; I like to add jalapenos. Also, reheats well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was pretty good. I did jazz it up a bit. I added half of a chopped onion and about 3 cloves chopped garlic to my ground beef, then added the taco seasoning. I also made a package of lipton's spanish rice and mixed it with the fresh tomatoes, then spread it over my ground beef/bean layers. This was not spicy AT ALL. I am not complaining, as I am cooking for a 20-month old, but I wanted to give people a heads up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Excellent recipe, but a few suggestions to spice it up a little. Choose the spicy taco seasoning mix along with a little Tabasco sauce, cumin, chili powder and oregano. My company raved about this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States