Mexican Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I gave this a four because I changed it up quite a bit. I cooked my hamurger meat with the taco seasoning, garlic, onion, and jalapeno. I layered tortillas on the bottom, then 1 can refried beans, hamburger meat, tomatoes, black beans, chesse, then more tortillas. I baked it covered for 30 minutes then added cheese on top and baked uncovered for 10. I then added tomato and green onion. It was pretty good, but more "liquidy" than I hoped for. It worked great with mexican rice and chips though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Only giving it four stars b/c I had to make a few modifications. I seasoned the meat before frying it and tossed in some garlic and onions (white not green). Then added 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning to the meat with only one can of refried beans and two cans of diced tomatoes with chiles. I drained the juice from one can of diced tomatos but used the juice from the second can to loosen up the refried beans. Side note: this meat mixture is absolutely delicious! I almost ate this in a tortilla without bothering to finish the lasagna! To layer my lasagna I did the following in 9x13 lasagna pan: 1. Tortilla, 2. Meat mix, 3. Enchilada sauce, 4. Cheese (mexican blend), 5. Tortilla, 6. Meat mix, 7. Enhilada sauce, 8. Cheese Because of the juice from the tomatoes I could have skipped the enchilada sauce but it still added a good flavor. Made the lasagna a little wet though. Also, I ended up using 4 cups of cheese instead of the recommended 3. Overall, WONDERFUL recipe. Boyfriend said he could smell it cooking from the parking lot of our apartment complex and couldn't wait to come in and eat. We have very different tastes in food but both of us give this recipe a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
My family loved this. Made a change from tacos or burritos. I changed it around a bit to fit our tastes and waists. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Okay, so yeah, I've become one of those people on this site that make major changes to a recipe and then make a review based on those changes even though it's much different than the original. So be warned: not the original. I don't like refried beans, never got into them. Instead I used canned black beans (2 14oz), drained, rished and then mashed. I mixed in about 1/3 cup of sour cream and set aside. I didn't have any ground beef on hand so used ground turkey. Instead of taco seasoning which is loaded with sodium, I just seasoned the meat myself with cumin, garlic, onion and coriander. I also added one chopped sweet onion and 3 strips of cooked, crumbled bacon to the mix. I used half a jar of salsa and then layered that with beans and tortillas and of course, added lots of Mexican blend cheese. The result was fabulous! I will definitely make this again and actually, except for all the cheese (2 cups), it turned out to be a very healthy dish. Next time, I will follow the recipe when it comes to adding tomatoes, which I regret not doing because the salsa alone wasn't tomatoey enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Quick and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was fantastic. I made some substitutions to make it vegan. I took someone else's suggestion and topped with sliced avocados. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I gave it four stars as is but after our changes it was a 5 star recipe. We used three kids of beans, refried, black and pinto and also added olives. We tripled it and froze two pans of it. It reheated well after being frozen for a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I only had one tin of refried beans and tried to balance it out with a tin of chopped tomatoes. The tomatoes added a lovely flavour but if you're going to do this I recommend halving the taco seasoning mix or it will be far too salty without both tins of beans. Altogether a nice simple recipe, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Tastes like burittos! Yummy with sourcream and salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This tastes pretty good. I only used 1 can of beans and I also added a small can of green chilies. I used the Taco Seasoning I from this site for the taco season mix and it has a ton of flavor. My only complaint is that the top needs some sort of sauce because the cheese on top of tortilla created a really hard crust which was really hard to get through. I didn't think of it at the time but I should have. Although the top did taste like a yummy cheese crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States