Mexican Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was such a hit with the 2 boys (30-something men really) that I live with that I just had to write a review! I added half a large onion sliced pretty thin, garlic and cumin to the beef while browning. I also added spicy chunky salsa as a layer and used corn tortillas instead of flour tortillas. It didn't hold up very well but the top tortilla layer under the cheese was sooo good, a bit crunchy. Also, I skipped the tomatoes on top and used a shredded cheddar/colby cheese mix. I also added grated mozzarella on top. The whole thing wasn't spicy but had great flavors. My husband doused it with some Texas Pete for a bigger kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I thought the taste was really good, it came out a little dry, but overall it was a really good meal. We had it with sour cream and guacamole. My picky daughter and husband both liked it. I did add some easy to make spanish rice into the beans and beef and i thought that was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe is great! I did some minor alterations based on some of the other reviews. I sauteed onion with my ground beef. I only used one can of refried beans (just because I couldn't possibly fit another can in), and added a drained can of corn. I also used enchalada sauce as one of the layers per another reviewer. It turned out fantastic! We had some unexpected dinner guests- I was nervous making this for them since I've never tried it before but it was a hit! Everyone had seconds- some even took some tortilla chips & scooped this up with the chips. I added hot sauce to mine because it wasn't spicy enough for me, but I was cooking for two children under 3, so I was very happy it was so mild. Very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peonypeonies
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Other than the "traditional" Italian lasagna, this is arguably the best non-traditional Italian lasagna recipe! My vegetarian roommate even said the smell made her want to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was pretty good but I had to make some substitutions since I was missing some ingredients. I cooked the meat with chopped onion & garlic for extra flavor before adding taco seasoning and 1 can of refried black beans. I also used corn tortillas which add more flavor and don't get soggy like flour tortillas, along with a sparse layer of corn. Since I was out of salsa I added taco seasoning to a can of tomato sauce and poured it over the meat/bean layers which were a bit dry. I also used tasteless reduced fat cheese which I WON'T do again- ugh! After baking I "frosted" the top of each serving with lowfat sour cream, avocado slices, black olives, chopped tomato and green onion. I will make this again using REAL CHEESE, spicy beans and salsa over the layers for more flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Awesome, BASIC recipe....Add black olives, jalapenos to the layers and guacamole to the top after baking....Be creative and this recipe is a hit. This recipe reminds me a a rue to a good soup...it is the base, build from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparklyspatula
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe! Makes for a quick easy meal...prefect for a potluck too :) Based on the previous reviews I made a couple of changes: 1. I used canned tomatoes with peppers instead of fresh roma tomatoes 2. I added a can of mexicorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparklyspatula
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
yummy! I made it exactly as the recipe was written, except I didn't have any Roma tomatoes, so I used canned petite diced tomatoes. I found that you only need to bake it for about 15-20 minutes. Very good taste and very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I tweaked this for preferences and to fit what I had on hand: used ground turkey instead of beef, only one can of beans. Added a can of diced tomatoes to the bean/meat mixture, and didn't use the onions or tomatoes on top. Everyone in our family enjoyed this...which never happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Great with guacamole salad and rotel dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States