Mexican Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is so easy and delicious. I used to make enchilada's all the time for my family but when I found this recipe I was hooked. No more rolling tortilla's. I might make enchilada's again some day and I might not..Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
We really did love this! Here's how I made it: I used a deep dish pizza pan instead of 9x13 and only used 3 whole wheat low carb tortilla shells and stacked them in layers. To make the delicious inside, I sauteed the beef with an onion, drained it, then added only 1 can of refried beans, taco seasoning, 1 tsp cumin and 2 tsp garlic powder, a diced jalapeno pepper, 1 can corn, and about 6-8 ounces of the enchilada sauce (otherwise it was SO thick). I spread a small layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan after spraying it to coat the pan like you do with regular lasagna. I toasted 3 10" tortilla shells. Put one at the bottom (on top of the enchilada sauce), then spread 1/2 of the meat mixture, 1/2 of the cheese, then another tortilla shell with meat and remaining cheese and topped it off with the last tortilla shell. I added another 1/2 cup of cheese then baked it for 40 minutes. When I pulled it out, I added another 1/2 cup of cheese (we like cheese!) and then placed the chopped plum tomatoes and a small can of sliced olives on top. Served it with sour cream and a few Fritos to dip up the gooeyness that oozed out the sides. OH YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was easy and good! I made some changes like other people. Added corn, sauted onion with the meat, added cumin and garlic powder too. I used 1 can of beans. I also added some rotel to the meat mixture. My family enjoyed it. We served it with sour cream, guacamole and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleisia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I changed a couple things and that made it a little too spicy for the kids. I used the left over taco meat that I had made for tacos the night before. Was probably a little less than a pound. Used 1 can of refried beans. I added 1 can of black beans and 2 cups of corn, thawed. Instead of fresh tomaotes I added Rotel- "tomatoes with lime and cilantro." That was what made it spicy. My husband and I liked it. I didn't add the green onions. As others recommended I used a different layering method. First I put down 2-3 tortillas in the 9 x 13 pan. Then a put a very small layer of sour cream on top (could still see the tortillas (it was very small amount). Then I added the meat mix (meat, beans, corn, tomotoes) and then the cheese. Then started over- tortillas, sour cream, meat mix,and then cheese. I added olives on the top. Very good recipe, but I would use fresh tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is very easy, quick and tasty. Browned beef and drained and rinsed the fat from it while sautéing a diced onion and chopped garlic in olive oil. Added the beef back in along with the taco seasoning, 1 can of refried beans and an undrained can of diced tomatoes. Only had smaller tortillas, so tore them into large pieces to fit the 9x9 pan I was using for this. Layered as I do regular lasagna, using with pepper jack and sharp cheddar cheeses for this. Served with taco sauce, shredded lettuce, Greek yogurt (in place of sour cream), crushed Dorito chips, and hot sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Most of the reviews here substaintially change this recipe by adding and changing almost everything. That must be the only way it get so many stars, because I made it exactly as the recipe specified and it was (at best) sort of like a microwave burrito cassarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
LOVED it!! I only had one can of refried beans, so I used regular beans too. I wasn't sure how the tortillas would taste in this (if they would be mushy and gross), but they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious! I made a few changes though which I think reapply improved the dish. First, we made our own taco seasoning to give the dish more flavor - my husband throws it together ;) Second, I added a can of corn (which I highly recommend). Third, I used spicy refried beans to give it a little kick. Finally I tipped with sour cream while eating. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great recipe, changed beef to chicken tenders, mixed taco seasoning with them and little oil, then fried them, chopped and continued with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Amazing, simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Congdon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States