Mexican Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe was delicious & very simple! I made it a little bit differently though. I substituted the roma tomatoes with a can of diced tomatoes & green chiles. I simmered the ground beef with Enchilada Sauce and used half the can of refried beans to spread it on the tortillas. I topped it off with sour cream like someone suggested and poured the Enchilada sauce (that I simmered the meat with)over the dish. My boyfriend & I absolutely loved it! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hard-2-4get

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
We did like this. I only added 1 can of refried beans because I thought it would be to much with 2 cans. And I put it into a pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was great. I made it for my family, my husband and son and they loved it. Next time I will add something else into it so it will give it more substance. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Very good base recipe. After reading many of the other reviews, I added about 1/2 cup of salsa and one can of diced tomatoes to the beef mixture, as well as about a cup of frozen corn. Then I was afraid it would be too juicy, so I simmered for about 20 minutes to reduce the moisture. Stirred in one can of refried beans. This is a great idea, the beans just dissolve into the mixture and thicken it up. A good way to sneak beans into the diet of my picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Great basic recipe! It's really tasty but I think next time I will add something more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I started with this recipe as a base then ventured forth using reviews from this and other Mexican Lasagna recipes on this site. Tortilla, refried beans, corn, taco meat, mexican blend cheese, enchilada sauce (unfortunately not the Tex-Mex enchilada sauce from here that's sooooo good), then repeat. I made mine in a round pan, and would've added layers, breaking up the "stack" of filling but I ran out of depth really quickly. Next time will use deeper pan and break down the layers. This definitely needs some kicking up with green chilies or jalapenos. It was a great base recipe and will keep this on my rotation. For plating, I laid down chopped lettuce, lasagna, sour cream, diced tomatoes, diced jalapenos. See picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Great! The kids even love it. I use FF refried beans, 2% cheese, and whole wheat tortillas to make it a bit healthier. Ground turkey also works but does look as appealing. Add some light sour cream on top and it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great base recipe! I used only one can of (spicy) refried beans, diced onions, and petite diced tomatoes, because that's what I had on hand. Used all the spices we normally use for tacos, rather than a seasoning mix. Also added some minced garlic, a can of corn, a layer of sour cream, and another layer of tortillas on the bottom of the dish. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I added garlic powder and pepper to the hamburger as well, reduced the beans to one can, added in tomatoes, onions, green chili's, and a little tobasco to the meat. Only ended up baking it till the cheese melted, about 10-15 minutes so it wouldn't be too dry. Also the meat mixture itself makes for very tasty burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this for a potluck lunch, and five people asked for the recipe! I chopped onions and bell peppers and sauteed them, and used that in place of the ground beef. I sprayed the (glass) pan with non-stick spray, just in case, and that worked out well because I had to microwave it one quarter at a time, because the pan wouldn't fit! I also didn't realize the onions and tomatoes should have gone on AFTER cooking, so I cooked it with them on top. Wasn't as pretty, maybe, but it was still tasty. I made sure to get vegetarian refried beans and tortillas with no lard. Making it at home, I would have to add more spices because I like a kick, but everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States