Mexican Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
My family loved this. Made a change from tacos or burritos. I changed it around a bit to fit our tastes and waists. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Okay, so yeah, I've become one of those people on this site that make major changes to a recipe and then make a review based on those changes even though it's much different than the original. So be warned: not the original. I don't like refried beans, never got into them. Instead I used canned black beans (2 14oz), drained, rished and then mashed. I mixed in about 1/3 cup of sour cream and set aside. I didn't have any ground beef on hand so used ground turkey. Instead of taco seasoning which is loaded with sodium, I just seasoned the meat myself with cumin, garlic, onion and coriander. I also added one chopped sweet onion and 3 strips of cooked, crumbled bacon to the mix. I used half a jar of salsa and then layered that with beans and tortillas and of course, added lots of Mexican blend cheese. The result was fabulous! I will definitely make this again and actually, except for all the cheese (2 cups), it turned out to be a very healthy dish. Next time, I will follow the recipe when it comes to adding tomatoes, which I regret not doing because the salsa alone wasn't tomatoey enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Quick and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was fantastic. I made some substitutions to make it vegan. I took someone else's suggestion and topped with sliced avocados. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I gave it four stars as is but after our changes it was a 5 star recipe. We used three kids of beans, refried, black and pinto and also added olives. We tripled it and froze two pans of it. It reheated well after being frozen for a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I only had one tin of refried beans and tried to balance it out with a tin of chopped tomatoes. The tomatoes added a lovely flavour but if you're going to do this I recommend halving the taco seasoning mix or it will be far too salty without both tins of beans. Altogether a nice simple recipe, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Tastes like burittos! Yummy with sourcream and salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This tastes pretty good. I only used 1 can of beans and I also added a small can of green chilies. I used the Taco Seasoning I from this site for the taco season mix and it has a ton of flavor. My only complaint is that the top needs some sort of sauce because the cheese on top of tortilla created a really hard crust which was really hard to get through. I didn't think of it at the time but I should have. Although the top did taste like a yummy cheese crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
sounds great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a wonderful, easy mexican dish! I like to try recipes "as written" when I make them for the first time, unfortunately I didn't have any tomatoes for topping, so I had to use the only thing I had - diced tomatoes with green chiles. I added this to the meat mixture instead of pouring on the top. This was the only change I made. My family loved this recipe and it will become one of our regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States