Mexican Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
The recipe doesn't say to brown the beef first, but I wouldn't try it any other way. I browned the beef and then added the beans and spices. I also added some minced green chiles for a little more kick. I used 2 cups of salsa instead of picante and left out the olives. The dish was ready in an hour, but maybe that's because I used 9 lasagna noodles instead of 12. For the cheese, I bought a package of shredded Mexican cheese. It's good, but next time I'll use less water because it was a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is EASY and GOOD - if you are using regular lasagna noodles DO NOT CUT the water. It comes out perfect. Like some others I tweaked the seasonings a bit and I always have to add more cheese because of all the rats at my house!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCJLARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I'd give this a 4 for flavour, but an overall rating a 3. The mix of beans and meat is great (I used lean ground turkey instead of beef). The idea of sour cream and olives is also good. The main problems with this dish are the cooking method/time and the size of the final dish. Next time I will precook the meat, and then add mix it with the beans. I will layer the sauce, undiluted, between each layer, and pre-cook the pasta. As always, I use whole wheat pasta. I would add many more spices; even though I added more this time, it was not enough. Finally, I'd add some cheese to the layers instead of having it all on top, for a better balance. I would also add layers of cooked vegetables such as bell peppers, onions, and mushrooms. The lasagne turned out very flat, almost half the height of every other lasagne I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It was too bland for my taste. I like more flavor and kick to my dishes. I added equal parts water and hot sauce. I did not cook the meat. I mixed the meat, refried beans and spices like a meatloaf. There was plenty of meat mixture to spread on the two layers. It is an easy dish to make and good for those who don't like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this for my mothe in laws birthday and everyone liked it. I wasn't very impressed with the combination. Not a bad recipe just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Ugh! The actual taste of this dish was okay. I added a grip of onion and used taco seasoning to the meat. I cut the water in half and ended up with half soft noodles and half hard noodles. I will never use this recipe again. My boyfriend disliked it so much he went and grabbed a bowl of cereal instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good and easy recipe. I added corn and taco seasoning to the meat mixture. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made a vegetarian version substituting soyriso which is a non-meat chiorizo sausage and it was great. I finished the dish under the broiler for a minute to brown the top. Also added some chopped mild green chilies on one layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Excellent! My husband says to add it to our list of rotating regular meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Made this last night. It was a huge hit! I did make a few minor changes. I browned the beef with a large chopped onion. Instead of the seasonings, I added two pkgs. of taco seasoning and a teaspoon of red pepper flakes and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I made 3 layers instead of two.(15 noodles). I also added about a quarter of a cup of chunky salsa to the beef itself to make it just a littlt bit moister. Instead of piquante sauce, I again used the salsa.I used four cups of cheese instead of three. One cup between each noodle layer and one for the top the during the last 5-10 minutes of cooking time. It is important to let the lasagne rest about 20 minutes to allow for easier cutting. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States