Mexican Jicama Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FloridaTennisGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made these tonight and the family loved them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Lovely! Not high in carbs more like moderate. Since they have 10.3 g of fiber so you would deduct half of that from the amount of carbs which leaves 14.4g of carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used this recipe for an nutrition lesson for 8th graders - my students loved this recipe and couldn't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These are deeeelicious! We used ground arbol chiles, only half a lime (which seemed to be plenty), and added some chopped cilantro, a pinch of sea salt and a little drizzle of mild olive oil. Definite keeper, and looking forward to having this as a cool, crisp snack in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I was introduced this as a dieting food when I was in the military. I needed to loose a few pounds and my friend Rocio showed me this and there really aren't but like 11 g of carbs in a cup I love it. It was light and the lime made it a bit tangy...I have added a dash of lemon sometimes and find it gives it a kick. I love the lime chili mix. I sprinkled taco seasoning on them one day. I did not expect it to taste all that great, just trying new things. I loved it....it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I am giving this recipe more stars than it deserves only because the Jicama itself is worthy of high praise. As written, this recipe is WAAAAAY to spicy for human consumption. A *tablespoon* of crushed red pepper for a single Jicama? Yikes! But the Jicama is an *EZ* to appreciate root veggie. It tastes and feels a whole lot like an apple. My thought is that it is very healthful to have variety in our diets. You get fantastic health benefits from a carrot that you don't get from a grape. So we should all eat as many different fruits and veggies as we can. And the Jicama is completely compatible with my US pallete. So do this recipe but either reduce the amount of pepper to 1/10th, or at least knock it off on the side of the dish before you put it in your poor mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Yummy. These are not high in carbs, its acceptable during Atkins Induction and on a lot of low carbers food lists. 1 cup = 11.5g of carbs, 6.4g of that is fiber. 4oz has a glycemic load of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerbeat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Refreshing best describes this. The only thing I didn't like is how the crushed red pepper clumped together from the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Guests loved them called them Mexican French Fries! I marinated overnight and added some cayenne and lots of Lime and Cilantro at end. Yummy! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States