Mexican Jicama Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Lime juice, salt and powdered chile- be it a mild one like guajillo (GOO-AH-JEE-YOH) or a super hot like piquin (PEE-KEEN)- is a widely popular addition to almost any fruit or veggie all over Mexico. Try it with green or medium ripened mango, cucumber ,pineapple, carrot, even celery and watermelon! It's addictive !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metal Malissa
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I added fresh chopped clinatro and let it marinade for a few hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These are deeeelicious! We used ground arbol chiles, only half a lime (which seemed to be plenty), and added some chopped cilantro, a pinch of sea salt and a little drizzle of mild olive oil. Definite keeper, and looking forward to having this as a cool, crisp snack in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My family really enjoys this but we let the jicama set in the lime/lemon juice overnight and put chili powder on it. It makes for a light snack especially on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was easy, yummy, and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These are great! This snack was first shown to me by my young Mexican friend Vero in the early 90’s. She spoke very limited English but got the idea across just fine. Cut the Jicama into sticks or chunks then make your own Chile powder. A chunk of dried out corn tortilla, 6 or 8 dry Chiles de Arbol toasted in a dry skillet, and a pinch of salt. Snap off the chile stems and grind tortilla, chiles, and salt in a mini blender or spice grinder until a powder. Put Jicama on a plate, squeeze fresh lime over, and sprinkle on the chile powder. Really good with a cold Dos Equis or Pacifico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used this recipe for an nutrition lesson for 8th graders - my students loved this recipe and couldn't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I was introduced this as a dieting food when I was in the military. I needed to loose a few pounds and my friend Rocio showed me this and there really aren't but like 11 g of carbs in a cup I love it. It was light and the lime made it a bit tangy...I have added a dash of lemon sometimes and find it gives it a kick. I love the lime chili mix. I sprinkled taco seasoning on them one day. I did not expect it to taste all that great, just trying new things. I loved it....it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, Kentucky, USA
Photo by FloridaTennisGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made these tonight and the family loved them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States