Mexican Jicama Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Lime juice, salt and powdered chile- be it a mild one like guajillo (GOO-AH-JEE-YOH) or a super hot like piquin (PEE-KEEN)- is a widely popular addition to almost any fruit or veggie all over Mexico. Try it with green or medium ripened mango, cucumber ,pineapple, carrot, even celery and watermelon! It's addictive !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These are great! This snack was first shown to me by my young Mexican friend Vero in the early 90’s. She spoke very limited English but got the idea across just fine. Cut the Jicama into sticks or chunks then make your own Chile powder. A chunk of dried out corn tortilla, 6 or 8 dry Chiles de Arbol toasted in a dry skillet, and a pinch of salt. Snap off the chile stems and grind tortilla, chiles, and salt in a mini blender or spice grinder until a powder. Put Jicama on a plate, squeeze fresh lime over, and sprinkle on the chile powder. Really good with a cold Dos Equis or Pacifico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
JPretty good, and nothing could be easier. Not good for a carb watcher or a diabetic. Too many carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My family really enjoys this but we let the jicama set in the lime/lemon juice overnight and put chili powder on it. It makes for a light snack especially on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metal Malissa
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I added fresh chopped clinatro and let it marinade for a few hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Really good easy and It looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Made this first for a Bunco group w/white bean monterey jack dip and although most had not had jicama before, they tried and enjoyed it. It'll never replace tortilla chips, but it was very light, refreshing and EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was easy, yummy, and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States