Mexican Halibut Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
We did this with tilapia and really enjoyed it...despite the fact that I was rushing and put the melted butter in the sauce, rather than in the baking dish. I also subbed a little olive oil for garlic oil, since I didn't have it. It went well with Black Beans and Rice (by Bonnie Baumgardner) from this site. We'll definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Simple and tasty. I used Nile Perch, a thick, white fish fillet. To cut calories, I used only 1/2 c. mayo, yogurt instead of sour cream, and garlic powder instead of garlic oil. I served it with rice and a salad for an excellent supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was scrumptious - I grew up in Alaska and have eaten halibut cooked many, many ways - so I truly enjoyed the flavors. Changes I made are: Used 1/3 cup of each 3/4 cup ingredient. Grated fresh lemon zest and sprinked cracked pepper on halibut instead of lemon pepper. For the salsa, I used some leftover homemade tomatilla salsa...wonderful - can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This is an excellent and simple recipe. The flavor will go with almost any vegatable. You can substitute chicken breast pre-cooked in a little butter, for the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Five stars on this! I have a similar recipe (which we love) that does not have the salsa as an ingredient...but we enjoyed this just as much. Incidentally, I made this with salmon, rather than halibut. Terrific recipe. Thx, Candie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This was awesome! Just the right amount of zip! If you like em spicy, you might want to add hot salsa. I also used low fat sour cream. My husband loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
great recipe! We added about 1/2 cup of cheese and once it was cooked, it was great over fettucini noodles :) I think we might add some crab meat to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Really enjoyed this recipe. Have lots of Halibut from an Alaskian fishing trip and tired of the traditional way of cooking fish. I will be making this again only I think I may use just the cracked pepper instead of the lemon pepper or maybe cut down on the lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Delicious and easy to make. I had some sauce leftover, so we put it on our salad as salad dressing. It tasted good there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Yum! Would be good with chicken too. Makes a lot of sauce, so you could cut down on the sauce, or add more fish or chicken. I think the sauce served cold would make a good dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States