Mexican Halibut Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Really disappointing. Tasted like thousand island dressing on top. Tried adding extra chili powder, no help. Perhaps some green chilis would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonni Canary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I did find the sauce mixture to be a little bland and we used a good variety of salsa. I think to highlight the salsa more, I would try halving the mayo and sour cream amounts, leaving the salsa the same, the next time I would try this. I also didn't really care for the lemon pepper with the salsa. Next time, I would just use regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This turned out great, although I did make some changes and served it with warm tortillas! Both my 6 & 3 year old boys loved it and said "this is the BEST"! The sauce is really yummy! LOL We used a white fish filet similar to tilapia (comes frozen; called Swai) & seasoned with Badia Complete Seasoning, garlic & onion powder, plus lime juice and sea salt. Let sit 15 mins. For sauce i used heaping 1/3 cups of mayo & sour cream and 1/2 cup mild salsa. added 2 chopped green onions and a handful of fresh chopped cliantro, some lime zest and another squeeze of fresh lime juice. my filets were thinner than halibut, so it only needed 15mins in the oven & then i topped it with crumbled Queso Fresco & put back in hot oven (turned oven off) and left about 8 mins. It was perfect!! :-) Since we are pretty regular with the lime/cilanto flavored foods, we just knew this would be perfect with these added items and of course some fresh Mexican cheese! OH...and the best thing was eating it with warm mini tortillas! We had our own yummy fish tacos! thanks for the recipe and ideas! This will be a keeper in our house! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
So easy and simple to make. I left out the garlic oil and used non-stick butter spray instead of butter. I also used fat free sour cream. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I love this recipe have made it a lot of times since i discovered it. I use Cod though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timberweave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Spicy salsa is the key to this recipe. "Fresh" halibut should not taste or smell fishy. Excellent dish-will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was a big hit! I did cook up some chorizo and then placed it under the fish while it cooked (making the dish less healthy but very good). I also added a little hot souce to the sauce mix and served with some black beans and corn tortillas. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I agree with Naples 34102. There were some problems with this recipe - nothing exciting about, generally. The only positive thing that I can say about this recipe was that the fish was moist. I may try this recipe again with some changes, as my husband seemed to like it. Suggestions: I would suggest reducing the general amount of marinade/sauce mixture, as it thinned out considerably when it cooked, and didn't seem to reconstitute, even with resting. It seemed to work better as a 'leftovers' dish. I added some roasted garlic, onions and julienned red bell peppers. Next time, I would also leave out the butter, as the recipe seemed to call for an awful lot of it, and it didn't seem to really help the overall outcome. I would also suggest using this as a marinade, rather than a sauce. The next time I make this, I am going to try it 'en papiotte'. I am hoping that the next time, this will be a more successful dish. I am willing to give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Neither hubs nor I enjoyed this. The topping is rather flavorless, and serves only to keep the fish kind of "wet." A sauce should enhance the food it accompanies, not dominate or bury it. Some ideas to improve this would be to bake, grill or broil the fish separately, then serve the sauce on the side. As for the sauce itself, it needs some flavor additions - chile powder, jalapeno or bell peppers maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States