Mexican Fire Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Great recipe! I used ground beef because thats what I had on hand. Easy to put together, makes a bunch, economical and seriously tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was a hit at the last mexican fiesta I had! Add this to your menu. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
this dish was quick, easy & good. i added taco seasoning mix (1pk.) to the ground beef (i did not have breakfast sausage)i also served this w\a side of refryed beans everyone loved it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great...makes enough to feed a small army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Made it exactly like as instructed. I would use a hotter picante sauce next time or spicier sausage. To me it was just a good rice casserole. I am going to add just a little more rice next time. Recipe was slighty watery. It is good, easy, and fast so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made minor changes to this. My six-year-old and I don't really handle spicy too well, so I put in about 3/4 cup medium chunky salsa and about 1/2 cup sour cream. I also use sage sausage because that's the only sausage I actually like. I use Daiya cheddar shreds on top. We now make this 3-4 times a month because we love it so much. Occasionally we'll use the leftovers in burritos the next day but usually we just eat it with spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This is a fantastic dish! Very easy and quick to fix and the bonus is, it's delicious! I prepared it exactly as instructed, but cut the recipe in half. I let it sit a good 15 minutes after taking it out of the oven so it would "set up" a little. Then we ate it on warm flour tortillas. My kids said it was better than anything they could get at Taco Bell!! I'm taking that as a compliment. This will be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Iowa, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
The kids love this. If you want more flavor -- I use chicken broth instead of water and canned El Pato sauce in my rice before I add the rest of the ingredients (the El Pato sauce doesn't really add a lot of liquid, so keep on about the same proportions of liquid as before.) I've also noticed that the HOT rather than MEDIUM picante sauce makes it almost too spicy, but you can scale up or down depending on your taste. Also, add a little minced onions, garlic and celery in the meat (hot pork sausage and/or ground beef) makes it really really good. I didn't use too much cheese on top at first, but this is the best part. The kids also like this inside burritos. Great! UPDATE: I was out of Sour Cream so I used Ranch dressing -- not 8 ounces, but just enough to get the creaminess through the mixture. Came out great and no one mentioned the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe and if you really like this hot, then you can spice it up even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amanda, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Made this for dinner one night. Had misgivings about the picante sauce but went on anyways. Actually the recipe was way more than I needed for two people, so I brought some to my brother and he loved it. This is definitely a recipe that I will keep in my recipe book Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States