Mexican Fire Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My family really likes this one. I recommend less cheese on top because it comes out really oily. Also, there is noting "fire" about it. You'd have to throw in jalapenos or something if you wanted it to be hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Truitt Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was just ok, probably wouldn't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Really good wrapped up in a tortilla. I used hot sausage and brown rice. Using the brown rice I increased the liquid to three cups. For the liquid I used canned beef broth as others have stated. The kids are already asking for this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I a used german type sausage for extra kick, I also added just a little pepper and ground cumin. For a health benefit I used brown rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I went lower fat on the serving for 8 size, and pretty much followed the recipe . I used smoked turkey sausage taken from a one pound link I had (removed casing) to have a total of 40 grams of fat in the one pound. Went with 8 oz of a good quality low fat sour cream to have 20 grams of fat there. I went with half the recommendation of cheddar cheese on top, and used a good quality low fat for 24 grams of fat. That made each hearty and filling serving just a little of 10 grams of fat, and it tasted great. I did use the medium hot picante. I might experiment with adding black beans or corn next time, as another reviewer has mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is very good. My husband, who does not like Mexican food much, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe unaltered is excellent! The last time I made it I changed it some, I used chicken instead of sausage and I sauteed 1/2 red bell pepper, 1 serrano pepper, and 1 small red onion with the chicken. My husband and son are very picky eaters and they devoured this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Oronoco, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Again, cannot rave enough about this. Soooo UMMMM, UMMMM good!!! Leftovers go great in tortillas for a quick and easy breakfast, lunch or snack. I love this rice, my ultimate favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Made this for dinner one night. Had misgivings about the picante sauce but went on anyways. Actually the recipe was way more than I needed for two people, so I brought some to my brother and he loved it. This is definitely a recipe that I will keep in my recipe book Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States