Mexican Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
When I saw this recipe, the first thing I thought was "She took my idea!!" ;) Ive been obsessed with egg roll wrappers lately and have been dying to do something like this but have'nt gotten of my lazy rear to do this so thanks for inspiring me! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
These were served to me recently when I lunched at a friend's home. Her filling included the ground beef nicely spiced with taco seasoning, but also included cooked rice, black beans, and the shredded cheese and diced green chilis. She mixed all of the ingredients into a large bowl and put a quarter cup of the mixture on each egg roll wrapper. This saved a little time so as not to top each egg roll individually with cheese and green chilies. The rest of the directions were identical although she sealed the edges with an egg wash and it was a great lunch accompanied with some chips and guacamole and a mixed greens salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Saurer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Delicious. Great dipped in sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Made these for dinner last night - so good! I have never worked with egg roll wrappers before, so I guess I impressed myself with how good these turned out. Very Yummy! Served with a side of refried beans and dipped in salsa and sour cream. Kinda like mini chimis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Recipe was great. Quick prep and cooking. The time consuming thing was rolling the egg rolls, but that was fun to do. Nice twist on the traditional egg roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASERRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
These were really good! Loved the concept. I added chopped onion and can of green chilies to the browning meat. Served with mexican rice and dipped the egg rolls in salsa and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was a great idea and leaves a lot of room for experimenting. Wish I could of thought this one up myself. Thanks, iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
was great - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is easy and great to eat, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
As written, not bad, but a little bit bland. I halved the recipe, but used about 2/3 of the taco seasoning packet. I also added some sauteed onion, and a wee bit of cumin. I think maybe a little corn and some white rice might really improve them. It's definitely worth playing around with. As with all egg rolls I make, I squirted them with butter-flavored Pam, and did them in the oven. We had them with salsa. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States