Mexican Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MommaMack
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I loved this recipe! You can really mix it up and put your own flavor in it. Made fresh salsa with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
The only changes I made were adding corn and black beans, and although these were delicious both my husband and I felt there was still something missing. I'll have to play around with the recipe. Also, I made a sour cream and avocado dipping sauce that I felt was essential. Without that, I think the egg rolls would have been too heavy. I made the sauce by blending two avocadoes, 8 ounces of sour cream and the juice from two limes in my food processor until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was pretty tasty. This filling seemed a bit bland so I added a lot of taco seasoning from the packet, as well as some cumin and a few other spices. This wasnt hard to make, but it did take me quite some time!! however, the end result was flavorful and tasty and both kids really liked them, so I would make them again on a day I dont have a lot of other things to do. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I thought it seemed like something was "missing" on these - they were good but not five stars for me. We will keep searching for THE Mexican egg roll recipe of our dreams....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I tried this as written the first time. The second I made some changes that we thought made this even better. I added some corn and black beans to the meat mixture. Didn't fry with the lettuce inside, instead topped with the lettuce. We liked the way it worked just a little better. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
When I made these I was afraid I wouldnt have enough filling so I added and extra taco seasoning and some refried beans. Well instead I ended up having extra which was great becuase I turned the extra meat into a taco pie. It was a perfect way to get an extra dish with out a lot of fuss. Will do this one again. My company raved over both :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Absolutely Awesome!!! My 3 year old loved his "fried taco"! I made no changes to the recipe...perfect as is! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I didn't make this exactly like the recipe. I used shredded chicken instead and added black beans, corn and some carmalized onions then cooked it all together in the taco seasoning and rolled them up in the wraps with cheese. They were super good. We dipped them in sour cream and some teriyaki/bbq sauce. Next time I will try the recipe as written, but I can already tell it'd be super good too! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
THIS IS AWESOME! THE ONLY THING I CHANGES WAS I DID NOT USE THE GREEN CHILIES BUT INSTEAD USED 1/2 OF A JALAPENO PEPPER. THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE. THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very tasty! I added some rice to them, served them with salsa and sour cream, and we really enjoyed them. In case anyone doesn't know where to get egg roll wrappers (we certainly had to perform a hunting expedition): if you go to an Asian grocery store, we found them in the frozen food section. This past week I was at our local grocery store and found them in the produce section with the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States