Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This was nice and refreshing. I used Rotel tomatoes and cut down on the pepper flakes but it was still pretty spicy. I liked it that way but it was too spicy for my husband. Next time I will use regular stewed tomatoes. I also added a tablespoon or so of sugar to give a hint of sweetness and take away some of the tartness of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
We loved this salad! I used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, fresh cilantro, and 1/2 the red pepper flakes. This was very tasty with our basil burgers.Thanks Ecuadorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
One of the quickest and best tasting recipes I have ever tasted. It was a huge success with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is a great summer salad! It was a little hot for me, but my family loved it. I will go a little light on the spices next time. Again, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I can't believe this received such good reviews!! My boyfriend and I didn't like this salad at all and ended up throwing it all in the garbage! It was way too hot and the corn made it very hard to eat!! Only giving it 2 stars bc it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I didn't have all the ingrediants to this so I improvised with what I had. I didn't add green pepper so I just left that out. Added some fresh chopped garlic and cumin for some kick (we like spicy) and it was good even after it sate for a couple of days. Thanks, we will be using it again and again. Sonya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This salad was absolutely wonderful! It was so flavorful and really refreshing! I don't know why one review was so bad or why they didn't like it. The flavors were really good and everyone who ate it loved it! The only changes I made were that I used two cucumbers, instead of one, half of each bell pepper, 2/3 of the corn, 1/2 TBS. of the red pepper flakes, and a dash of sugar. I also used fresh cilantro... dried wouldn't be the same. Anyway, this was a great side dish and is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This tastes great and is very easy to make. I peeled the cukes, took out the seeds and cut them in chunks. Less watery that way. Used leftovers as a salsa with chips. Especially like those lime flavored chips by Tostitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This would be good served on top of chicken. The TBS of red pepper I cut to 1 tsp. I did use the mex. tomatoes and fresh cilantro. I doubled the cucumber. Good for a hot day but not special enough for 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I didn't have cumin or cilantro, but this was still excellent. I figured my fiance wouldn't care for it because he's not a big vinegar fan, but he ate more of it than I did!! I added a little olive oil, but other than that, I didn't change a thing! Thanks for a tasty and different salad :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States