Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe as written is only okay. But if you substitute FRESH ingredients you really have something special!!! I used a huge english cucumber, fresh tomatos, fresh corn from the cob, and fresh cilantro & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Eeks - WAY too spicy! Would cut the amount of red pepper flakes in half and add more later if you want an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was a nice, refreshing, crunchy salad. I was quite glad it called for dried cilantro (coriander) as opposed to fresh, as I'm the only one who likes cilantro in my family, although I would have used it if I could. The coriander gave this a much different, but pleasant, flavor, and provided a perfect backdrop for the cumin. I can't account for how much heat this has, as I left out the tablespoon of hot pepper flakes. I also used fresh tomatoes rather than canned, but otherwise followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I think this must be very good. I took it to an office party and it was all gone before I got to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Es muy bueno y es muy pico! I picked up my bountiful baskets this morning and there were 2 cucumbers, cilantro and a tomato. I had corn from last week so I whipped this up this morning. I used all fresh ingredients, but since I added the extra cucumber I doubled the red wine vinegar, but not the spices. I actually re read the directions to make sure it really had a tablespoon of red pepper flakes in it. If you don't like your food spicy I would go with 1/2 or less. My husband is eating his with chicken wrapped in a tortilla. My mouth is still zipping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Delicious and very refreshing. Fresh cilantro is fabulous with this instead of dried. I actually liked this salad better fresher--when it sat for just the 30 mins as opposed to any longer, but that is certainly a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Really spicy. I've made this twice and always forget how hot it really is. Still tastes great and it is a big hit. Will dial down the red pepper flakes a lot next time. Very fresh. A great summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great healthy and tasty recipe. After a hungry trip tot he grocery store, I made the following changes: 1. Used 2 fresh tomatoes instead of stewed. 2. Increased red wine vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes, and garlic. 3. Used fresh chopped cilantro instead of dried. 4. Added a few green onions, my favorite. Even my fiance who dislikes most healthy things loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love, the porters

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very good. Yellow corn is better than white for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
way too hot for my fam's taste.... kinda bland also...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States