Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I got a handful of cucumbers from a co-worker and had some fresh cilantro from my garden and stumbled across this guy. I used fresh tomato and cilantro as well. I also used pomagranite red wine vinegar and a sweet green pepper. I used it as a nice salsa this evening. Paired great with a glass of Sav. Blanc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This recipe is so perfect for the summer. I used tomatos that were seasoned with chili peppers, etc for an extra kick. I cut back on the corn to maybe 1/2 cup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Outstanding recipe. Wouldn't change a thing, we loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this for a cinco de mayo party and have made it for 2 more gathering since. It is a very refreshing crisp salad as well as a fantastic compliment to enchiladas! I also used fresh tomatoes instead of the canned but if I was in a bigger hurry I think the canned would do just fine!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was so easy, and went fantastically with mexican smothered pork chops. SO simple, and if you chopped everything smaller would make a great salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hfm28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Awesome salad. I didn't have red pepper flakes so I used a teaspoon of powder and it was just fine, definitely spicy enough. I used fresh cilantro and mixed all of the spice ingredients with the vinegar before pouring on the veggies. It was the perfect side for shrimp enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This was delicious! I made a few changes after reading reviews. I 1 cup of cherry tomatoes and added a little water and another tbsp of vinegar. I used fresh cilantro. The salad was even better the NEXT DAY. I recommend making this a day ahead of time to have all the saesoning really soak into the veggies. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Either my crushed red pepper flakes are very potent or other reviewers have a higher tolerance for pain. I found that a Tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes was just way too much for me! Next time, I'll cut back to 1 teaspoon for more balance of flavors. Also, since cherry tomatoes are in full season, I used 2 cups of them instead of canned stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is a nice and refreshing salad. I used our Jersey tomato's to make this and because we detest it, I left out the cilantro and used parsley to garnish. An avacado helped to make this even better. Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is GREAT!!!!! I took it to my family's 4th of July gathering & it was a hit! Everyone asked for the recipe. I followed the advice of others & used fresh cilantro. I also used fresh tomatoes from my garden. I realized after the salad was complete that I had chopped the veggies a bit small (more of a dice than a chop) so I bought some corn chips and served it as a refreshing salsa. Thanks for a fantastic recipe that I will use over & over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States