Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was alright, but not as good as I'd hoped. Another reviewer suggested adding green onion, and I think that would have helped. I also thought of maybe adding some fresh lime juice (1-2 tsp?). It just needs that "zing." And I thought the canned tomatoes were too mushy to go with all the fresh veggies - fresh would have been much better, in my opinion. I'm not sure I will try this again, but if I do, I am going to modify it a bit and see if that helps. I will say it looked really pretty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was good,light and refreshing. I added half a bunch of chopped green onions,1 1/2 tsp of sugar,and a tsp of oregano. Next time I'll reduce the crushed pepper seeds,my husband thought it was a little hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Very good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggielifestyle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Delicious! I used cider vinegar, as I was out of red wine vinegar; it worked very well. I also skipped the onion as we aren't fans and used fresh cilantro instead of dried. This has a great blend of flavors, as well as being really colorful and refreshing. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
very good with grape tomatoes, red onion, fresh cilantro and red and green peppers. Used frozen corn and cayenne pepper instead of flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great fresh salad! I used fresh tomatoes in place of the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This salad tasted like it couldn't decide what it was, the different flavors competed. But my kids really liked it, which is always nice when it comes to salad. I doubled the corn, and used apple cider vinegar instead of wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was great! I used Italian seasoning instead of cumin. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fantastic Dish! I substituted fresh corn and tomatos instead of the canned ones ( i hate canned vegetables) and I thought it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nrdrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This salad is one of my favorite and I make it every week once I get my own tomatoes and cucumbers from the garden. It's a very tasteful and HEALTHY salad. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States